In Oklahoma, a married wartime veteran who needs daily help with bathing, dressing, or eating can qualify for Aid and Attendance, which lifts the VA pension ceiling to $34,488 a year in 2026.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ The pension itself is paid monthly.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ It's one of the most underused VA benefits, and many Oklahoma veterans and surviving spouses who qualify never apply because they don't know it exists.
This guide walks through who qualifies, how much you can receive, how to apply, and where to get help filing in Oklahoma, including from the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs and its Veterans Service Representatives.
In This Guide
- Key Takeaways
- What Is Aid and Attendance?
- Do You Qualify?
- 2026 Aid and Attendance Rates
- The Net Worth Limit and 3-Year Lookback
- How to Apply for VA Aid and Attendance in Oklahoma
- Help Filing in Oklahoma: ODVA Veterans Service Representatives
- How VA Aid and Attendance Works with Oklahoma Medicaid
- Frequently Asked Questions
What Is Aid and Attendance?
Aid and Attendance (A&A) is an enhanced VA pension benefit for wartime veterans and their surviving spouses who need help with everyday activities. It isn't a separate program. Qualifying for it raises the ceiling the VA will pay your pension up to, and the rates published below are ceilings on the whole pension, basic amount included.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ Aid and Attendance is not paid only as part of a pension: VA also adds it to some veterans' monthly compensation, and the same examination form covers both routes. This guide walks the pension route, which is where the rates below apply.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). VA Form 21-2680. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/forms/21-2680/
You may qualify if you need another person's help with daily activities such as these, which the VA weighs when it rates the need for care:U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
- Bathing or keeping yourself clean
- Dressing and undressing
- Feeding yourself
- Using the toilet
- Adjusting prosthetic devices
- Protecting yourself from everyday hazards
You can also qualify if you're bedridden, spend a large part of the day in bed because of illness, live in a nursing home because of the loss of mental or physical abilities related to a disability, or have severely limited eyesight (even with glasses or contacts, 5/200 or less in both eyes, or a visual field narrowed to 5 degrees or less).U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
VA pays the pension, at the higher Aid and Attendance ceiling, as monthly payments, so families can put it toward in-home care, assisted living, or nursing home costs. That flexibility is part of what makes it so useful for Oklahoma families piecing together long-term care.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
Not sure whether your parent qualifies for Aid and Attendance? Check with Brevy's care navigator at brevy.com.
Do You Qualify?
To receive Aid and Attendance through a VA pension, the veteran must not have received a dishonorable discharge, and you have to meet all four of these requirements.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
1. Wartime service. How much service the VA requires turns on when the veteran started active duty, not on which war they served in. A veteran who started on active duty before September 8, 1980 must have served at least 90 days of active duty with at least one day during a recognized wartime period. A veteran who started on active duty as an enlisted person after September 7, 1980 generally needs at least 24 months, or the full period they were called or ordered to active duty (with some exceptions), again with at least one day during wartime. VA lists a third path as well: a veteran who started on active duty as an officer after October 16, 1981 and hadn't previously served on active duty for at least 24 months. VA notes that the 24-month rule has some exceptions, so a post-1980 enlisted veteran with under 24 months of service isn't automatically ruled out. So a career veteran who enlisted in the 1970s and was still serving during the Gulf War falls under the 90-day rule, not the 24-month one. Recognized wartime periods include World War II, the Korean conflict, the Vietnam era, and the Gulf War, which runs from August 2, 1990 through a future date still to be set by law or presidential proclamation.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/,U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
2. Age, disability, or benefit status. VA lists four alternatives here, and any one of them satisfies the test: the veteran is at least 65 years old; has a permanent and total disability; is a patient in a nursing home for long-term care because of a disability; or is getting Social Security Disability Insurance or Supplemental Security Income. The last two branches stand on their own, so a wartime veteran under 65 who receives SSI qualifies without any adjudicated permanent and total rating.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
3. Need for assistance. The veteran or surviving spouse must need regular help with daily activities, be bedridden, be in a nursing home, or have severely limited eyesight as described above.
4. Net worth under $163,699. This is the 2026 limit. VA's calculation combines your and your dependents' assets with your annual income, so comparing savings alone against the limit gives you the wrong answer. Your primary residence, your car, and basic home items don't count.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ That home may carry a separate benefit: for an honorably discharged veteran the VA has certified as 100% permanently disabled from service, or who is paid at the 100% rate, Oklahoma exempts the full value of the homestead from property tax.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Oklahoma Tax Commission - Individuals: Exemptions (Ad Valorem Property Tax Exemptions for 100% Disabled American Veterans). oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Jul 22, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/tax/individuals/exemptions.html See our guide to the Oklahoma disabled veteran property tax exemption.
Surviving spouses qualify too. If the veteran has passed away and the surviving spouse needs help with daily activities, they can apply for the Survivors Pension with Aid and Attendance, with a ceiling of $18,697 a year in 2026.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
2026 Aid and Attendance Rates
The VA calculates your payment as the difference between your countable income and the Maximum Annual Pension Rate (MAPR) for your category. If your countable income is zero, you receive the full amount. These rates are federal, so they're the same in Oklahoma as anywhere else. VA publishes these rates as annual amounts. Your monthly payment is worked out from them by a rule in federal regulation: your rate minus your countable income, divided by 12, and rounded down to the whole dollar.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
| Category | Maximum Annual Rate |
|---|---|
| Veteran, no dependents | $29,093 |
| Veteran with spouse | $34,488 |
| Two veterans married to each other (both A&A) | $46,143 |
| Surviving spouse | $18,697 |
| Veteran, no dependents (Housebound) | $21,313 |
| Veteran, no dependents (basic pension) | $17,441 |
| Each additional dependent | +$2,984 |
Here's how the math works. If a veteran with a spouse has $12,000 in annual countable income and qualifies for A&A, the VA pays the difference: $34,488 minus $12,000 leaves $22,488 a year, and VA divides that remainder by 12, rounding down to the whole dollar, to set the monthly payment.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ Unreimbursed medical expenses can lower your countable income and raise your benefit, but only the part above 5% of your rate counts: a threshold of $1,141 for a veteran with one dependent and $872 for a veteran with none.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
The Net Worth Limit and 3-Year Lookback
The 2026 net worth limit is $163,699. This combines your and your dependents' assets (savings, investments, and property other than your home) with your annual income.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
What counts: bank accounts, stocks, bonds, investment property, IRAs, and other financial assets, plus your annual income.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
What doesn't count: your primary residence, your car, and basic home items.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ The house you live in doesn't push you over the limit, which matters for the many Oklahoma veterans who own their homes outright but live on a modest fixed income. The exclusion covers the home's lot only up to 2 acres, though; marketable land beyond that counts as an asset. The home stays excluded if you move into a nursing home.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
The 3-Year Lookback Rule
The VA reviews any assets you transferred for less than fair market value in the 36 months (three years) before it receives your claim.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/ The rule is 38 CFR 3.276, and its look-back period does not include any date before October 18, 2018.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ If you gave away or sold assets below market value and keeping them would have put you over the net worth limit, the VA will assess a penalty period of up to five years during which you won't receive pension benefits.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/ Putting money into an annuity, a trust, or another investment that lowers your net worth also counts as a transfer for less than fair market value, unless you can cash out the whole balance for your own use, in which case VA counts it as net worth.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
This rule exists to stop people from simply giving away savings to qualify. If you're thinking about transferring assets, talk to a VA-accredited attorney or an elder law attorney first. The penalty can be steep, so it's worth getting advice before you move money.
How to Apply for VA Aid and Attendance in Oklahoma
The steps below are the pension route: VA's condition for them is that you get a VA pension. A veteran who receives VA disability compensation instead uses VA Form 21-2680 for Aid and Attendance that will be added to those monthly compensation payments, and skips the pension application at step 3.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). VA Form 21-2680. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/forms/21-2680/
File an intent to file, if you're still gathering paperwork
Submitting VA Form 21-0966 (Intent to File) first can secure the earliest possible effective date for any retroactive payments you may be eligible to receive, while you collect records for the rest of the claim.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). VA Form 21-2680. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/forms/21-2680/
Get a medical examination
A medical examiner fills out the examination information section of VA Form 21-2680 (Examination for Housebound Status or Permanent Need for Regular Aid and Attendance), documenting which daily activities you need help with and why. This is the form for Aid and Attendance that will be added to your monthly compensation or pension benefits. Be thorough: the more detail about specific limitations, the stronger the claim. If you're a nursing home patient, a nursing home official also completes VA Form 21-0779 to verify your stay.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). VA Form 21-2680. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/forms/21-2680/
Complete the pension application
A wartime veteran pursuing the pension route who isn't already receiving a VA pension also submits VA Form 21P-527EZ (Application for Veterans Pension), the means-tested wartime pension application. It covers your service history, income, net worth, and medical conditions. If you already receive VA disability compensation rather than a pension, this isn't your form.
Submit everything
You can file online at va.gov, mail the forms to the VA Pension Intake Center, or apply in person at a VA regional office. An accredited attorney, accredited claims agent, or accredited Veterans Service Organization representative can also help you file, and ODVA provides claims assistance to Oklahoma veterans.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). VA Form 21-2680. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/forms/21-2680/
Wait for a decision
Asked how long a decision takes, VA's answer is "It depends." It processes claims in the order it receives them, unless a claim requires priority processing. Missing paperwork can slow a claim down, so send a complete application with strong medical documentation the first time.
Documents to Gather First
- DD-214 (discharge papers) showing wartime service dates
- Medical records documenting the need for daily help
- Income documentation (Social Security and pension statements)
- Asset information (bank and investment statements)
- Marriage certificate, if claiming as a veteran with a spouse
- Death certificate, if applying as a surviving spouse
Help Filing in Oklahoma: ODVA Veterans Service Representatives
You don't have to file this claim alone, and no one can lawfully charge you for preparing or filing your initial VA claim.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 38 U.S.C. §5901. Prohibition against acting as claims agent or attorney (U.S. Code, 2024 edition) — govinfo, U.S. Government Publishing Office. govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 11, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title38/html/USCODE-2024-title38-partIV-chap59-sec5901.htm The state's own veterans agency provides claims assistance to Oklahoma veterans, and under state law its duty to help reaches their dependents too.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Benefits Pages. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/benefits.html
The Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs (ODVA)
The Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs, known as ODVA, provides claims assistance to Oklahoma veterans. ODVA states that its Veterans Service Representatives can help a veteran file a claim for service-connected disability compensation, and that the agency offers expert assistance with state and federal benefits, disability claims, burial and survivor benefits, and educational opportunities. ODVA strongly recommends scheduling an appointment before visiting its Oklahoma City Central Office, which expects a high volume of visitors, and it publishes a form to make an appointment with a Veteran Service Officer alongside a Veteran Service Member County Map. You can reach the Central Office at 405-523-4000 or toll free at 1-888-655-2838, and the Muskogee office at 918-781-7766.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Benefits Pages. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/benefits.html
Oklahoma Veterans Centers
ODVA also runs seven state-operated long-term care facilities, the Oklahoma Veterans Homes, for eligible veterans; state law also allows the spouses, widows, and widowers of eligible war veterans to be admitted. They are located in Ardmore, Claremore, Clinton, Lawton, Norman, Sallisaw, and Sulphur, and they are federally approved by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and licensed by the Oklahoma State Department of Health.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs - Veterans Homes. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/veterans-homes.html The Sallisaw Veterans Home is the newest addition to the system, a 201,000-square-foot mixed-use and residential facility on a 40.8-acre campus that houses 175 beds; having passed its federal recognition survey in 2026, it is now prepared to begin full admissions, and it welcomes veterans from any state rather than Oklahoma residents only.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs - Veterans Homes. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/veterans-homes.html Admission availability varies by home and by care level and changes from month to month: as of October 2026, ODVA listed Ardmore, Claremore, Clinton, Lawton, and Sulphur as "Admissions Available," Sallisaw as "Admissions Available (No Memory Care)," and Norman as "Memory Care Only." Because those statuses shift, check ODVA's veterans homes page for the current listing before applying.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs - Veterans Homes. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/veterans-homes.html If a veteran does move into one of these homes, Oklahoma law counts VA pension and Aid and Attendance awards as income when it sets the monthly care charge, which must leave the veteran at least $150 a month, and it bars turning a wartime veteran away for inability to pay.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs - Veterans Homes. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/veterans-homes.html
Oklahoma's Veteran Population
The VA's National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics puts Oklahoma's veteran population at 274,660 for 2025 in its FY2025 Oklahoma state summary, down from 278,537 for 2024. These are modelled estimates rather than a head count.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Veteran Population - National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/vetdata/veteran_population.asp The same FY2025 summary puts 119,157 Oklahoma veterans, 43.4 percent, at age 65 or older.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Veteran Population - National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/vetdata/veteran_population.asp With that many older veterans, it's worth contacting ODVA early rather than waiting until a care crisis forces the issue.
A word of caution: be wary of anyone who charges to help with an initial VA claim. Federal law bars a fee for an accredited attorney's or claims agent's work before VA's initial decision; after a decision, they may charge to help you appeal or ask for another review. Representatives of VA-recognized Veterans Service Organizations always help with benefit claims free of charge, and you can verify a representative's accreditation in the VA's accreditation search.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 38 U.S.C. §5901. Prohibition against acting as claims agent or attorney (U.S. Code, 2024 edition) — govinfo, U.S. Government Publishing Office. govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 11, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title38/html/USCODE-2024-title38-partIV-chap59-sec5901.htm
How VA Aid and Attendance Works with Oklahoma Medicaid
Aid and Attendance and SoonerCare (Oklahoma Medicaid, administered by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) are run separately, under different rules. A veteran can receive both at the same time, but the two count money differently, so a few points are worth understanding.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/
- SoonerCare treats A&A specially, not as ordinary income. When A&A is paid for an attendant in the individual's own home, it is excluded income for SoonerCare eligibility. When the recipient is in a nursing facility, A&A is treated as a third-party resource rather than counted as income for eligibility.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/
- Eligibility is only the first step. Which federal rule governs the next one depends on the setting. For a resident of a nursing facility or other medical institution, 42 CFR 435.725 counts income that was disregarded at eligibility back in, so VA pension income excluded at the SoonerCare eligibility step can still reach the share-of-cost calculation. It is not all owed to the facility: the state must first deduct five amounts, in this order, a personal needs allowance for the resident, a maintenance needs allowance for a spouse still at home, a maintenance needs allowance for other family at home, incurred medical or remedial care costs Medicaid does not cover (within reasonable limits the state may set), and any SSI or state supplement still being paid. Those are deductions the state must make, not benefits a family applies for, and Oklahoma sets the amounts. A spouse at home also has separate community-spouse protections; get that allowance figure from OHCA. Home and community-based waiver services are a different setting: 435.725 does not state their share of cost, so a waiver household should confirm it with OHCA. The exception on the VA side is the A&A payments OHCA treats as a third-party resource, which its policy states do not affect the member's vendor payment.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/
- The VA pension can be cut to $90 a month in a SoonerCare nursing facility. OHCA provides that a veteran or surviving spouse with no dependents who is SoonerCare eligible and lives in a SoonerCare-approved nursing facility may have the VA pension reduced to $90 per month, starting the month after admission; a veteran with dependents is outside that reduction. The reduced $90 is not used to compute the vendor payment or spenddown, and the resident keeps it along with the regular nursing facility maintenance standard.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/ Federal law does not apply the cap in a state veterans home for which VA pays a nursing-home per diem, and VA's own regulation applies the cap after the month Medicaid payments begin rather than after the month of admission, so check both points against your own award with an accredited Veteran Service Officer.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/,U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 38 CFR 3.551(i) - Certain beneficiaries receiving Medicaid-covered nursing home care ($90/month pension limit; authority 38 U.S.C. 5503) (eCFR, current edition). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Aug 3, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-38/section-3.551
- The general rule for other situations. At the eligibility step, Oklahoma applies SSI income rules, under which the Aid and Attendance allowance is not counted as Medicaid income at all, so only the basic pension counts toward the income limit. The two programs can offset or reduce one another.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/
- Timing matters. Because A&A and Medicaid can affect each other, the order in which you apply can matter. Dual-eligible long-term-care situations are best reviewed case by case with ODVA or an elder-law or Medicaid-planning professional.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/
For the bigger picture of how to protect assets while qualifying for long-term care coverage, start with our guide to Medicaid planning strategies.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does VA Aid and Attendance pay in Oklahoma in 2026?
The maximum depends on your situation. With Aid and Attendance the annual pension ceiling is $29,093 for a veteran alone, $34,488 for a veteran with a spouse, and $18,697 for a surviving spouse, and VA pays the pension monthly.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ Those ceilings cover the whole pension, not an amount paid on top of it, and they are federal rates, identical in Oklahoma. Your actual payment is reduced by your countable income, and unreimbursed medical expenses above 5% of your rate can lower that income and raise your benefit.
Where can I get help applying in Oklahoma?
Contact the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs at 1-888-655-2838 or 405-523-4000, or its Muskogee office at 918-781-7766.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Benefits Pages. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/benefits.html ODVA provides claims assistance to Oklahoma veterans and strongly recommends booking an appointment with a Veteran Service Officer before visiting its Oklahoma City Central Office.State of Oklahoma. (n.d.). Benefits Pages. oklahoma.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://oklahoma.gov/veterans/benefits.html No one can lawfully charge you for preparing or filing an initial claim.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 38 U.S.C. §5901. Prohibition against acting as claims agent or attorney (U.S. Code, 2024 edition) — govinfo, U.S. Government Publishing Office. govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 11, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title38/html/USCODE-2024-title38-partIV-chap59-sec5901.htm
Can I receive Aid and Attendance and SoonerCare at the same time?
Yes. SoonerCare treats A&A specially: it's excluded income for eligibility when paid for an in-home attendant, and it's treated as a third-party resource for a nursing-facility resident rather than counted as income.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/ Being eligible isn't the end of it, though. For a resident of a nursing facility or other medical institution, 42 CFR 435.725 counts income excluded at the eligibility step back in (A&A that OHCA treats as a third-party resource still does not affect the vendor payment), but the state must first deduct five amounts, including a personal needs allowance for the resident, allowances for a spouse or other family at home, and uncovered medical costs (within reasonable limits the state may set).U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/ Oklahoma sets those amounts. That rule does not state the share of cost for home and community-based waiver services, so a waiver household should confirm it with OHCA.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/ For a SoonerCare-eligible veteran or surviving spouse with no dependents in an approved nursing facility, the VA pension may be reduced to $90 a month, though federal law does not apply that cap in a state veterans home for which VA pays a nursing-home per diem.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Aid And Attendance Benefits And Housebound Allowance. va.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/aid-attendance-housebound/ Because the programs interact, review your situation with ODVA or a Medicaid-planning professional before applying.
How long does it take to get approved?
VA's own answer is "It depends." It processes claims in the order it receives them, unless a claim requires priority processing.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). VA Form 21-2680. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/forms/21-2680/ Missing paperwork can slow a claim down, so have the medical examiner be detailed on VA Form 21-2680 and submit all supporting documents at once.
Learn More
The information on Brevy.com is for educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional legal, financial, or medical advice. Rules vary by state and program and change frequently. Always verify with the relevant agency or a qualified professional. Brevy is not a law firm, financial advisor, or healthcare provider.
Still have questions?
Brevy answers from this guide and every other guide here, and can check what you qualify for.