In Alaska, how to get paid as a family caregiver comes down to two systems: Medicaid personal care and the VA's caregiver benefits. Alaska's Personal Care Services (PCS) benefit has a Consumer-Directed option in which the person receiving care can choose, hire, supervise, and even fire their own personal care assistant, and Community First Choice (CFC) can include PCS.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK The two programs treat a spouse differently: CFC personal care can be provided by a spouse who is qualified and employed by a state-certified provider, while State Plan PCS, agency-based or consumer-directed, does not pay a spouse.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199,akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199 Alaska's CFC rules also let the recipient's legal representative provide the care if the representative names a designee to manage it, a route PCS excludes. Beyond that, neither program's rules name adult children or other relatives, so ask Alaska Senior and Disabilities Services (SDS) at 907-269-3666 before counting on pay for one of them.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199,akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199 For veteran families, VA programs offer a clearly grounded path to compensating a caregiver, including a spouse.
The Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers pays a monthly stipend to designated family caregivers of eligible veterans, with no spousal exclusion.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp VA Aid and Attendance provides up to $34,488 a year for a veteran with one dependent in 2026.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
The Short Version
If the care recipient is a wartime veteran, VA programs are the strongest route. PCAFC pays spouses and other family members a monthly stipend. Aid and Attendance adds pension income the veteran can direct toward family care.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
If the care recipient qualifies for Alaska Medicaid personal care, the program decides whether a spouse can be paid. Community First Choice can pay a qualified spouse employed by a state-certified provider; State Plan PCS, including its Consumer-Directed option, does not pay a spouse.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199,akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199 Alaska's CFC rules also let the recipient's legal representative provide the care if the representative names a designee to manage it; PCS does not allow this. Beyond that, neither program's rules name adult children, siblings or other relatives, so contact Alaska SDS at 907-269-3666 to confirm the family-hire rules before care starts.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199,akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199
If neither VA benefits nor Medicaid applies, a private personal services contract is the fallback. It must be written before care begins, at a fair-market rate, with documentation to protect against Medicaid look-back scrutiny.
How to Get Paid as a Family Caregiver in Alaska: What the State Offers
For SDS's home and community-based services, two offices share the eligibility gate. Medicaid income and resource limits are determined through an interview and application with the Division of Public Assistance (DPA), while the level-of-care requirement is assessed by the SDS Intake and Assessment Unit (or its Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Unit, depending on the program). Questions about money go to DPA; questions about assessment or waiver services go to SDS at 907-269-3666.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK
Personal Care Services (PCS)
Alaska's Personal Care Services (PCS) benefit offers help with daily tasks like bathing, dressing, and eating, as well as shopping, laundry, and light housework. It comes in an Agency-Based option and a Consumer-Directed option, and under the consumer-directed option the person can choose, hire, supervise, and even fire their own personal care assistant.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK That choice has limits. Alaska's PCS regulations (7 AAC 125), which govern both the agency-based and consumer-directed programs, pay only for an assistant who is at least 18, meets the state's qualifications (including association with a certified personal care services agency), and is not the recipient's spouse, the parent of a minor recipient, someone with a duty under state law to support the recipient, the recipient's representative, or the representative's designee. The exception is a court-appointed guardian whom a court authorizes under AS 13.26.311(c) to provide personal care. SDS states that legally responsible individuals are not permitted to provide State Plan PCS, per CMS.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199
The PCS rules do not name adult children, siblings or other relatives, either to permit or to exclude them. Alaska Statute 25.20.030 says each child is bound to maintain the child's parents when they are poor and unable to work, and the PCS rules do not say whether that duty puts an adult child in the excluded group, so ask SDS before care starts. If you hold the care recipient's power of attorney, SDS's October 15, 2024 Director's Memo allows you to provide PCS or CFC personal care only if an additional person, not affiliated with a provider agency, is named jointly on the POA documentation and the POA appoints a designee.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199
Community First Choice (CFC)
Alaska's Community First Choice program, also known as 1915(k), can include Personal Care Services, personal emergency response systems, case management, and chore services. To join, a person must meet federal rules for financial and medical needs, including needing care usually provided in an institution, and the first step is to contact a local Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC) or Developmental Disabilities Resource Connection (DDRC).Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK
Unlike PCS, CFC personal care may be provided by a recipient's legally responsible individual, including the recipient's spouse, the parent of a minor child, or a court-appointed legal guardian, if that person is qualified to provide personal care services and is employed by a provider certified under 7 AAC 127.050. A guardian who provides the care must appoint a designee to act on the guardian's behalf, and every CFC personal care assistant must be at least 18 and employed in either a consumer-directed or an agency-based program.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199 The regulation still limits a legally responsible individual to 40 paid hours within a seven-day period, but SDS's June 27, 2025 Director's Memo says it will not enforce that limit for CFC personal care and will remove it, because neither CMS nor the 2023 legislation imposed an hourly limit.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199
CFC has a second route that PCS does not. Under 7 AAC 127.115(d), the recipient may select their representative to provide CFC personal care. The representative must then name a designee to carry out the representative's duties, and that designee must be at least 18, present in the recipient's community and involved in the recipient's day-to-day care, and willing to manage and evaluate the personal care services as they are provided in the home. Apart from legally responsible individuals and a representative the recipient selects, the CFC rules do not name adult children, siblings or other relatives, either to permit or to exclude them.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199 Alaska's Medicaid regulations define a recipient's representative as a parent, guardian, or other individual with legal authority to act on the recipient's behalf.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199 If an adult child or other relative already holds that role, ask SDS whether this route fits your family.
Alaskans Living Independently (ALI) Waiver
The ALI waiver is one of Alaska's 1915(c) home and community-based services waivers. CMS records it as serving people 65 or older and people ages 21 to 64 with physical disabilities who meet a nursing-facility level of care, with adult day, care coordination, respite, host home care, environmental modification, meals, nursing oversight and care management, residential supported living, specialized medical equipment, specialized private duty nursing, and transportation. Personal care is not on that list, so ask SDS before treating ALI as a way to pay a family member; its respite can still give a family caregiver a break.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK
NFCSP Through Alaska's Family Caregiver Support Program
Alaska's Family Caregiver Support Program, its version of the National Family Caregiver Support Program, is delivered through nine designated grantees listed on the program's page. Its services are information and assistance, respite, caregiver support groups, caregiver training, and supplemental services; a direct caregiver wage is not among them. It serves caregivers 18 and older caring for someone 60 or older, caregivers 18 and older caring for a person of any age with Alzheimer's disease or a related disorder, and relatives 55 and older caring for children under 18 or for adults ages 18 to 59 with disabilities.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK
Six Ways to Get Paid as a Family Caregiver in Alaska
Pathway 1: Consumer-Directed Personal Care Services
For Medicaid-eligible Alaskans who qualify for PCS, the Consumer-Directed option lets the person receiving care choose and hire their own personal care assistant.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK That assistant cannot be the recipient's spouse, the parent of a minor recipient, someone with a state-law duty to support the recipient, or the recipient's representative, unless a court authorizes a guardian to provide the care or SDS's power-of-attorney limits above are met. Whether an adult child or another relative can be hired is not settled in the PCS rules, so that is a question for Alaska SDS.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199
Ask how to qualify for PCS
Call Alaska SDS at 907-269-3666 and ask how Medicaid eligibility and the PCS assessment work for the person receiving care.
Confirm the family-hire rule
Ask Alaska SDS at 907-269-3666 whether the specific family relationship, such as an adult child, is permitted as the paid assistant under the Consumer-Directed option. A spouse cannot be paid under PCS, so a spouse should ask about CFC instead.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199
Ask how pay works
If a family member is approved, ask SDS how hours, pay, and tax withholding are handled before care starts.
Pathway 2: Community First Choice (CFC)
For people who need care usually provided in an institution, CFC can include Personal Care Services along with emergency response systems, case management, and chore services. Start with a local ADRC or DDRC.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK Unlike PCS, CFC can pay a spouse: a spouse who is qualified to provide personal care and employed by a state-certified provider can be the paid personal care assistant. The recipient can also select their representative to provide the care, as long as the representative names a qualified designee. For an adult child or other relative, confirm with SDS before care starts.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199 For the spouse-specific steps, see how to get paid to care for a spouse in Alaska.
Pathway 3: VA Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC)
The Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers pays a monthly stipend to a designated Primary Family Caregiver of an eligible veteran. The caregiver must be at least 18 and either a family member of the veteran (a spouse, son, daughter, parent, stepfamily member, or extended family member) or someone who lives full time with the veteran, or is willing to if VA designates them. Those are alternatives, so there is no spousal exclusion, and a live-in partner or friend who is not related can also qualify.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
VA's first screen has four requirements, and all must be true: a VA disability rating (individual or combined) of 70% or higher, a discharge from the U.S. military or a date of medical discharge, a need for at least six months of continuous, in-person personal care, and enrollment in VA health care. Those four are necessary but not enough on their own: you and the veteran apply together, and VA decides eligibility through that application process against the full regulatory test. The monthly stipend starts from the OPM General Schedule grade 4, step 1 annual salary for the veteran's geographic locality, divided by 12, then multiplied by a stipend factor set in 38 CFR 71.40(c)(4)(i). Which factor applies depends on how the veteran qualifies:U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
- Current program (the veteran meets the criteria at 38 CFR 71.20(a)): the factor is 0.625, or 1.00 if VA determines the veteran is unable to self-sustain in the community.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
- Legacy participant or legacy applicant (38 CFR 71.20(b) or (c)): the factor comes from the sum of the veteran's 2019 clinical ratings instead, 1.00 for a sum of 21 or higher, 0.625 for 13 to 20, and 0.25 for 1 to 12. No self-sustain determination is required on this route.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
A veteran who meets both tests is paid the higher of the two amounts. A legacy participant under 71.20(b) also has a floor: the stipend cannot drop below what the caregiver was eligible to receive on September 30, 2020, for as long as the veteran remains at the address VA has on record. The legacy provisions run until October 1, 2028.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
To actually receive the stipend, the caregiver must enroll in direct deposit through the VA customer engagement portal. Primary and Secondary Family Caregivers both get caregiver education and training and mental health counseling; a Primary Family Caregiver may also get CHAMPVA health coverage if they don't already qualify under another health care plan, and at least 30 days of respite care per year.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp Contact the Anchorage VA Medical Center Caregiver Support Coordinator for current Alaska locality figures and enrollment guidance.
Pathway 4: VA Veteran-Directed Care (VDC)
VA Veteran-Directed Care is another VA program worth asking about. The sources behind this guide do not describe who it can pay, whether a spouse can be hired, or how payroll works, so confirm all three with the Caregiver Support Coordinator at the Anchorage VA Medical Center before planning around it.
Pathway 5: VA Aid and Attendance
VA Aid and Attendance is a pension enhancement for wartime veterans who need help with daily living, and for surviving spouses with similar needs.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
2026 Aid and Attendance rates (Maximum Annual Pension Rates, effective December 1, 2025 through November 30, 2026). VA publishes these as yearly amounts and pays a twelfth of the award each month:U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
- Single veteran: up to $29,093 a year
- Veteran with one dependent: up to $34,488 a year
- Surviving spouse (no dependents): up to $18,697 a yearU.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
The net worth limit is $163,699. VA pension is subject to a 36-month look-back on asset transfers under 38 CFR 3.276 for transfers made on or after October 18, 2018.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
The veteran receives the pension. Families can direct those funds toward a family caregiver through a personal arrangement or a personal services contract. Aid and Attendance has no Alaska Medicaid enrollment requirement.
Pathway 6: Private Personal Services Contract
For families outside both VA and Alaska Medicaid systems, a personal services contract documents and compensates caregiving work. Requirements:
- Written and signed before care begins
- Specific about services, schedule, and rate
- Priced at or below what local home care agencies charge for the same services
- Supported by ongoing service logs
Alaska Medicaid applies a 60-month look-back on asset transfers. Under federal Medicaid law, transfers for less than fair market value during the look-back trigger a penalty period, a span when Medicaid will not pay for long-term care, so undocumented cash payments to a family member are hard to defend.U.S. Social Security Administration. (n.d.). Social Security Act sec. 1917(c) [42 U.S.C. 1396p(c)] - Taking into account certain transfers of assets: look-back date, penalty period, start date, divisor, and the (c)(2) exceptions (SSA Compilation of the Social Security Laws). ssa.gov. Retrieved Oct 8, 2026, from https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title19/1917.htm A written contract at a fair-market rate executed before care begins provides a defensible paper trail. Confirm current Alaska look-back rules with an Alaska elder-law attorney.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK
| Pathway | Administered by | Spouse eligible? | Typical monthly value | Key requirement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consumer-Directed PCS | Alaska SDS / Medicaid | No; other relatives: ask SDS at 907-269-3666akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199 | Ask SDS | Medicaid PCS eligibility; ask SDS |
| Community First Choice (CFC) | Alaska SDS / Medicaid | Yes, if qualified and employed by a certified providerakleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199 | Ask SDS | Need for institutional-level care |
| VA PCAFC | VA (federal) | Yes | Varies by locality | 70%+ rating is one of several requirements |
| VA Veteran-Directed Care | VA | Not stated; ask VA | Not stated; ask VA | Ask the Anchorage VA Caregiver Support Coordinator |
| VA Aid and Attendance | VA (federal) | Veteran pays family member | Up to $34,488/yr (veteran with one dependent) | Wartime service; net worth under $163,699 |
| Personal Services Contract | Private | Not recommended for Medicaid planning | Negotiated rate | Written contract before care begins |
How to Choose
Veteran household: If the veteran has a 70%+ service-connected rating and needs daily personal care, start with PCAFC. Spouses qualify, and the primary caregiver may also get CHAMPVA health coverage if not already covered by another health plan. Layer Aid and Attendance pension on top if the veteran qualifies for both. Ask the Anchorage VAMC Caregiver Support Coordinator whether Veteran-Directed Care is offered and whether it can pay a family member.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
Non-veteran Medicaid household: Call Alaska SDS at 907-269-3666 about CFC or Consumer-Directed PCS and how to qualify.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK If the paid caregiver would be a spouse, ask about CFC by name, because State Plan PCS does not pay a spouse. If it would be an adult child or another relative, ask whether that relationship can be the paid assistant, and whether CFC's recipient's-representative route applies.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199,akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199
Private-pay household: A personal services contract is the right structure for families outside both systems. Involve an Alaska elder-law attorney if the care recipient might apply for Alaska Medicaid within the next five years.
Not sure which pathway fits? Brevy's care navigator can help you work through Alaska's options. Chat at brevy.com.
Taxes on Family Caregiver Pay
Whether the money comes from an Alaska Medicaid program, the VA PCAFC stipend, or a private personal services contract, ask a tax professional how it is taxed before you file.
Common Misconceptions
"Consumer-directed care automatically means any family member can be the paid assistant." Consumer-Directed PCS lets the person choose and hire their own assistant,Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK but Alaska's PCS rules still exclude the recipient's spouse, the parent of a minor recipient, anyone with a state-law duty to support the recipient, and the recipient's representative, unless a court authorizes a guardian or a power of attorney meets SDS's limits.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199 In Alaska Medicaid, a spouse can be paid for personal care under CFC, through a certified provider, and Alaska's CFC rules also let the recipient's legal representative provide the care if the representative names a designee to manage it.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199 Confirm any other relative with Alaska SDS at 907-269-3666 before care starts.
"Medicare pays for ongoing personal care." Original Medicare does not pay for long-term care, which Medicare also calls custodial care and which includes personal care assistance. It will help pay for a short skilled nursing facility stay after a qualifying hospital admission,Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Long Term Care Coverage. medicare.gov. Retrieved Sep 5, 2026, from https://www.medicare.gov/coverage/long-term-care and it covers home health for a homebound beneficiary who needs a skilled service.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Medicare.gov — Home health services coverage. medicare.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://www.medicare.gov/coverage/home-health-services Alaska Medicaid and VA programs are the routes for ongoing ADL support.
"A verbal arrangement is enough for Medicaid purposes." Alaska applies a 60-month look-back,Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK and transfers for less than fair market value during it trigger a penalty period.U.S. Social Security Administration. (n.d.). Social Security Act sec. 1917(c) [42 U.S.C. 1396p(c)] - Taking into account certain transfers of assets: look-back date, penalty period, start date, divisor, and the (c)(2) exceptions (SSA Compilation of the Social Security Laws). ssa.gov. Retrieved Oct 8, 2026, from https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title19/1917.htm A written contract, executed before care begins and priced at a fair-market rate, helps show that payments were compensation for care rather than a transfer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I get paid to care for my parent in Alaska?
Possibly, but Alaska's rules don't settle it. Neither the PCS rules nor the CFC rules name adult children, either to permit or to exclude them. Under CFC, the recipient may select their representative to provide personal care, if the representative names a designee who is at least 18 and involved in day-to-day care, so ask SDS whether that route fits if you hold that role for your parent. PCS also excludes anyone with a state-law duty to support the recipient, and Alaska Statute 25.20.030 says each child is bound to maintain the child's parents when they are poor and unable to work; the PCS rules do not say whether that duty rules an adult child out.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199,akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199 Ask Alaska SDS at 907-269-3666, in writing if you can, before you start care you expect to be paid for. If your parent is a veteran, also look at PCAFC (Pathway 3).
Can a spouse be paid as a caregiver in Alaska?
Yes, under Community First Choice, if the spouse is qualified to provide personal care and is employed by a state-certified provider. State Plan Personal Care Services, agency-based or consumer-directed, does not pay a spouse.akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 127.010-127.199, Community First Choice (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.127.010&secEnd=7.127.199,akleg.gov. (n.d.). 7 AAC 125.010-125.199, Personal Care Services (Alaska Administrative Code, print view) — akleg.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.akleg.gov/basis/aac.asp?media=print&secStart=7.125.010&secEnd=7.125.199 CFC is for people who need care usually provided in an institution.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Alaska Waiver Factsheet - CMS State Waivers List, Medicaid.gov. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/AK For veteran households, PCAFC lets a spouse be the paid Primary Family Caregiver if the veteran meets VA's eligibility requirements and the spouse is at least 18.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC) - VA Caregiver Support Program. caregiver.va.gov. Retrieved Jun 24, 2026, from https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/PCAFC-Stipend.asp
What is the 2026 Aid and Attendance rate?
VA sets these rates as annual maximums. For 2026 (effective December 1, 2025 through November 30, 2026), the rate for a veteran with one dependent is $34,488 a year. For a single veteran, it is $29,093 a year. Surviving spouses with no dependents can receive up to $18,697 a year. VA pays a twelfth of the yearly award each month.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
Learn More
Find personalized help choosing the right Alaska paid-caregiver pathway at brevy.com.
The information on Brevy.com is for educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional legal, financial, or medical advice. Rules vary by state and program and change frequently. Always verify with the relevant agency or a qualified professional. Brevy is not a law firm, financial advisor, or healthcare provider.
Still have questions?
Brevy answers from this guide and every other guide here, and can check what you qualify for.