Whether Medicaid covers dental for adults depends on the state, because federal law makes adult dental an optional benefit that each state designs for itself. In 2026, Medicaid in Alabama generally provides no dental coverage for non-pregnant adults 21 and older, while Maine's adult benefit can cover fillings, crowns, root canals and dentures., The table below gives every state and DC its own row: what the adult benefit covers, the yearly dollar cap with its period, and whether dentures are included.

In This Guide

What Federal Law Requires for Adult Dental

Dental services are their own category of Medicaid assistance under §1905(a)(10) of federal Medicaid law. For adults 21 and older, Medicaid dental services are optional: a state may add them through its state plan, and CMS says there are no minimum requirements for adult dental coverage.

Dentures sit in a different paragraph of the same law, §1905(a)(12), and Medicaid.gov lists dentures and dental services as two separate optional benefits.

For enrollees under 21, dental care is mandatory under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. EPSDT dental care must at a minimum include relief of pain and infections, restoration of teeth and maintenance of dental health, and the state must provide needed EPSDT services even if its plan doesn't list them.

Adult Dental Coverage by State (2026)

Each row states only what that state's own materials say. "None stated in materials we reviewed" means the state sources we checked name no yearly dollar cap; it does not mean the benefit is unlimited. "Limited detail" marks a row where the sources leave the scope partly unanswered. This grid describes each state's adult benefit; if you're covered through a medically needy group, check with your state which benefit package applies to you.

State Benefit in brief Annual cap and period Dentures
Alabama Most adults 21+ not eligible; pregnant enrollees covered through 60 days postpartum None stated in materials we reviewed Routine dentures and partials not covered
Alaska Emergency care, plus enhanced care: cleanings, exams, crowns, root canals, dentures $1,150 per benefit year (Jul 1–Jun 30) on enhanced care; emergency care continues Covered within the enhanced benefit
Arizona Emergency dental care and extractions $1,000 per contract year (Oct 1–Sep 30), no carry-over Not covered
Arkansas Adult dental covered (limited detail on scope) $500 per state fiscal year (Jul 1–Jun 30), no rollover Covered; immediate dentures not covered; whether they count toward $500 not stated
California Full-scope adults: preventive, fillings, root canals, crowns, gum care, dentures $1,800 per calendar year, unless medically necessary or an exception Covered; outside the cap
Colorado Exams, cleanings, fillings, extractions, root canals, crowns, gum scaling $3,000 per year (Jul 1–Jun 30), effective Jul 1, 2026 Covered; outside the limit
Connecticut Adult dental covered; non-emergency care needs prior authorization, with exceptions $1,000 per calendar year on non-emergency care; can be exceeded with prior authorization Medically necessary dentures not subject to the cap
Delaware Diagnostic, preventive, basic restorative, gum care, oral surgery; $3 copay $1,000 per year, plus up to $1,500 more for emergencies Denture repairs covered; new dentures not stated
District of Columbia Covered per the District's dental fee schedule (limited detail) None stated in materials we reviewed Complete and partial dentures listed at adult rates
Florida Base: limited exams and x-rays, extractions, dentures; 13 extras with plan approval Extra-benefit limits not published by the state; contact the dental plan Covered
Georgia Diagnostic, preventive, restorative, gum, root canal, emergency, oral surgery since Jul 1, 2024 None stated in materials we reviewed Prosthodontic services covered (dentures not named)
Hawaii Since 2023: exams, cleanings, fillings, molar root canals, oral surgery, emergency care None stated in materials we reviewed Complete and partial, once every 5 years each
Idaho All Medicaid adults get Enhanced Plan dental (limited detail) None stated in materials we reviewed Not stated
Illinois Diagnostic, preventive, fillings, front-tooth root canals, gum care, oral surgery None stated in materials we reviewed Complete dentures every 5 years; partials for children only
Indiana Depends on plan: Healthy Indiana Plan Plus and State Plan include dental; HIP Basic doesn't None stated in materials we reviewed Fee-for-service: once every 6 years with prior authorization
Iowa Exams, cleanings, fillings, gum treatment, root canals, crowns, extractions $1,000 per state fiscal year (Jul 1–Jun 30) Covered; making dentures doesn't count toward the cap
Kansas Gum care, fillings, crowns, preventive care; cleanings twice a year None stated in materials we reviewed Covered when medically necessary
Kentucky Limited: exams, emergency visits, x-rays, extractions, fillings, implants as a last resort None stated in materials we reviewed Prior authorization; complete dentures every 5 years
Louisiana Adult denture services: exam, x-rays, dentures, relines, repairs None stated in materials we reviewed One per arch per 8 years, prior authorization
Maine Described by the state as "comprehensive" since Jul 1, 2022: fillings, crowns, root canals, gum care, oral surgery None stated in materials we reviewed Each arch once per 5 years, prior authorization
Maryland Checkups, cleanings, fillings, crowns, root canals, extractions; no copays No cap: "no maximum benefit amount each year" Not covered for adults 21+; adjustments covered
Massachusetts Exams, cleanings, fillings, crowns, root canals, extractions, oral surgery $1,750 per benefit year (Jul 1–Jun 30) from Aug 1, 2026 Covered; first full dentures after extractions may be covered past the limit
Michigan See our Michigan guide See our Michigan guide See our Michigan guide
Minnesota Benefits the state calls "comprehensive," restored Jan 1, 2024: fillings, some crowns, root canals, extractions None stated in materials we reviewed One per arch per 6 years, always with authorization
Mississippi Limited: emergency extractions, care tied to a medical or jaw condition $2,500 per fiscal year (orthodontia excluded); more with prior authorization Not covered for adults
Missouri "Comprehensive" for pregnant women, blind adults, nursing-home residents; limited for others None stated in materials we reviewed Covered for blind adults, nursing-home residents and some pregnant women; not limited-benefit adults
Montana Standard Medicaid: nearly all medically necessary dental $1,205 per benefit year (Jul 1–Jun 30) on treatment; no cap for Aged, Blind, and Disabled (ABD) adults Covered; outside the cap
Nebraska Diagnostic, preventive, restorative; root canals and gum care with prior authorization No cap: $750 yearly maximum removed Jan 1, 2024 Covered
Nevada From Jul 1, 2026: diagnostic, preventive, gum care, fillings, crowns $1,000 per calendar year; emergency and palliative care outside it Covered; outside the limit
New Hampshire Diagnostic, preventive, limited gum care, fillings, oral surgery $1,500 per year, preventive services excluded Only for certain waiver adults and nursing-facility residents
New Jersey Fee-for-service: exam and cleaning once per 12 months; managed care not stated (limited detail) None stated in materials we reviewed Not stated
New Mexico Yearly exam, cleaning and fluoride; fillings; emergency care (limited detail) None stated in materials we reviewed Repairs and adjustments covered; new dentures not stated
New York Extensive: crowns, root canals, implants in certain circumstances None stated in materials we reviewed Covered
North Carolina Covered with limits: front-tooth root canals only; no bridges or implants None stated in materials we reviewed Complete every 10 years, partial every 8, with prior approval
North Dakota Two exams and cleanings a year, fillings, extractions, front-tooth root canals None stated in materials we reviewed Complete every 5 years; partials every 5 with authorization
Ohio Diagnostic, preventive, restorative, root canals None stated in materials we reviewed Covered; complete dentures need prior authorization
Oklahoma Limited: cleanings, fluoride, fillings, extractions None stated in materials we reviewed Full and partial covered
Oregon Yearly exam, cleaning and fluoride; fillings; steel crowns on back teeth None stated in materials we reviewed Full every 10 years, partial every 5, with prior authorization
Pennsylvania Exam and cleaning every 180 days; crowns and root canals only by exception None stated in materials we reviewed One per arch per lifetime; nursing-facility residents every 5 years
Rhode Island Partial: adults born before May 1, 2000 get fee-for-service dental; health plans exclude adult dental None stated in materials we reviewed Not stated
South Carolina Diagnostic, preventive, restorative, extraction, adjunctive $1,000 per state fiscal year; diagnostic and adjunctive care outside it Complete dentures not covered
South Dakota Exams, cleanings, x-rays, fillings, crowns, front-tooth root canals $2,000 per state fiscal year (Jul 1–Jun 30) on non-emergency care Every 5 years if unserviceable; outside the cap
Tennessee Since Jan 1, 2023: exams, cleanings, fillings, root canals, crowns, extractions None stated in materials we reviewed Partial, complete and immediate covered
Texas Nursing-facility residents: emergency only. STAR+PLUS waiver members: routine care, dentures (limited detail) Waiver only: $5,000 per individual service plan year Covered under the waiver
Utah All adults: at minimum checkups, cleanings, fillings, pain and infection relief (limited detail) None stated in materials we reviewed Not stated
Vermont Preventive, diagnostic, restorative, root canals $1,500 per calendar year; preventive outside it; emergency care continues Not stated
Virginia Exams, cleanings, fillings, root canals, gum care, extractions; crowns after a root canal None stated in materials we reviewed Covered; partials after preventive treatment
Washington Exams, cleanings, fillings, steel crowns, front-tooth root canals, extractions None stated in materials we reviewed Complete and partial covered
West Virginia Emergency care, plus diagnostic, preventive and restorative care with prior authorization $2,000 per two-year period Count against the $2,000
Wisconsin Diagnostic, preventive, fillings, root canals, gum care, oral surgery None stated in materials we reviewed Covered with prior authorization
Wyoming Emergency pain relief, 2 preventive visits a year, extractions None stated in materials we reviewed Relines and repairs only; new dentures not listed

How Medicaid Dental Caps Work

Brevy's tally of this table, October 2026: 17 of the 50 sourced rows show a dollar cap on the adult benefit (16 yearly caps plus West Virginia's two-year limit); Texas's cap applies only to its waiver. Only three rows state that there is no cap: Maryland, whose health department says there is "no maximum benefit amount each year"; Nebraska, which removed its $750 yearly maximum on January 1, 2024; and Montana, for adults in its Aged, Blind, and Disabled group.,,

A cap's period decides when the money resets. Among the capped states whose materials state a reset date, July 1 is the most common: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Montana and South Dakota reset their Medicaid adult dental caps on July 1.,,,,, South Carolina's $1,000 Medicaid adult dental cap runs per state fiscal year. California, Connecticut, Nevada and Vermont reset their Medicaid adult dental caps on January 1.,,, Arizona's Medicaid adult dental cap resets on October 1. West Virginia's $2,000 Medicaid adult dental limit covers a two-year period, and the balance does not carry over.

A dollar cap rarely covers everything. In many states, the services an older adult is most likely to need sit outside it:

Arizona is the exception: Arizona's Medicaid program limits adult dental coverage to emergency care, so emergency services count toward its $1,000-per-contract-year limit.

Dentures Are a Separate Benefit

Because federal law lists dentures apart from dental services, "my state covers adult dental" doesn't settle whether it covers a denture. Louisiana and Maryland show the split in both directions:

  • Louisiana: the state's Medicaid services chart lists Adult Denture Services as the dental benefit for adults 21 and older: an exam, x-rays, dentures, relines and repairs, with one complete or partial denture per arch every eight years.
  • Maryland: adults get checkups, fillings, crowns and root canals, but the state's Medicaid program does not cover dentures for adults 21 and older.

Where dentures are covered, replacement limits vary widely:

If You Also Have Medicare or VA Coverage

Original Medicare doesn't cover most routine dental care: in most cases it won't pay for cleanings, fillings, extractions, dentures or implants, and you pay all costs for non-covered services. But Medicare does pay for dental care that's linked to the success of certain covered medical treatment, such as an exam and infection treatment before an organ transplant, a heart valve replacement or cancer chemotherapy. Our guide to what Medicare covers for dental care has the details.

If you have both Medicare and Medicaid, it matters which kind of "dual eligible" you are. Full-benefit duals have Medicare plus full Medicaid. Partial-benefit duals have Medicare plus help only through a Medicare Savings Program (QMB, SLMB, QI or QDWI), but not full Medicaid.

Three states say in their own materials that partial duals don't get their dental benefit:

  • Delaware: full duals have the adult dental benefit; people enrolled only as QMB or SLMB are not eligible.
  • Louisiana: adults certified only as QMB or SLMB are not eligible for dental services.
  • Florida: partial duals (QMB, SLMB, QI1), and full duals in a D-SNP or FIDE-SNP, are among the groups not eligible to enroll in a dental plan.

The other states' materials we reviewed don't address partial duals, so confirm with your state whether you have full Medicaid or only a Medicare Savings Program. Our Medicare Savings Programs by state guide explains the difference. When you have both programs, Medicare pays first for Medicare-covered services, and Medicaid pays last, after Medicare and any other health insurance you have.

Veterans have a separate route. The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs places each veteran in a dental benefits class based on factors like service history and current health, and VA says that while some veterans enrolled in VA health care are eligible for free VA dental care, many are not. Veterans enrolled in VA health care, and family members enrolled in CHAMPVA, may be able to buy discounted private dental insurance through the VA Dental Insurance Program (VADIP), paying the full premium themselves. See our guide to VA dental care.

If You Live in a Nursing Home

Federal nursing-home rules set dental duties for every Medicaid nursing facility, whatever the state's adult benefit. A nursing facility must:

  • Provide or obtain routine dental services to the extent the state plan covers them, plus emergency dental services.
  • Help make dental appointments and arrange transportation, if necessary or requested.
  • Refer a resident with lost or damaged dentures for dental care within 3 days, or document how it made sure the resident could still eat and drink adequately and why the referral was late.
  • Keep a policy on when lost or damaged dentures are the facility's responsibility, and not charge the resident in those cases.
  • Help residents who are eligible and wish to participate apply for reimbursement of dental services as an incurred medical expense under the state plan.

The state benefit still sets what routine care a resident gets. In Texas, for example, the state authorizes only emergency dental services for residents of Medicaid-certified nursing facilities. Some states go the other way: Pennsylvania exempts nursing-facility residents from its adult dental limits, and Missouri offers nursing-facility residents what it calls comprehensive dental services, while other adults get a limited benefit., Our guide to Medicaid nursing home coverage by state covers eligibility.

What You Owe Above a Cap

Only a few state sources in this table say what happens when your dental bills pass the cap:

  • West Virginia: state law says recipients must pay for services over the $2,000 limit per two-year period, and the state manual says remaining balances don't carry over.
  • South Dakota: once you reach the $2,000 state-fiscal-year maximum, you're responsible for the excess. The state's billing manual says excess costs for covered services should be billed at Medicaid rates, while non-covered services may be billed at the dentist's usual charge. To bill you for a service Medicaid doesn't cover, a dentist who knows it isn't covered has to tell you before treatment that you'll be responsible for payment.
  • Texas STAR+PLUS HCBS program: the dentist may not bill the member for costs above the approved amount.

The materials we reviewed for the other states don't say whether a dentist can bill you above a cap. Ask the dental office and your plan before treatment starts.

If your state has a medically needy (spend-down) program, federal rules require it to count necessary care that state law recognizes but the state plan doesn't cover, subject to state limits, and Medicaid doesn't pay the bills used to meet the spend-down. Whether a specific dental bill counts depends on your state's rules.

If Medicaid Denies Your Dental Care

A denied prior authorization, or a change in the amount or type of services you get, is a decision you can take to a state fair hearing. The path depends on how your state delivers dental care.

If your dental care comes through a plan, appeal to the plan first. You have 60 calendar days from the date on the denial notice, and you can appeal orally or in writing. If the plan upholds the denial, your state must give you between 90 and 120 calendar days from the plan's decision notice to request a state fair hearing; each state sets the exact number. If the plan misses its notice and timing requirements, you can go straight to a state fair hearing. If you're in an applicable integrated Medicare-Medicaid plan, different federal appeal rules apply, so follow the instructions on your notice.

If your dental care is fee-for-service, you request the state fair hearing directly. Federal rules cap the request window at 90 days from the date the notice is mailed, but a state can set a shorter one, so the deadline that applies to you is the one printed on your notice.

Our guide to Medicaid appeals and fair hearings walks through the process.

Finding a Dentist Who Takes Medicaid

Start with the member services number on your Medicaid or dental plan card, and ask which dentists near you accept your coverage.

If your state covers little adult dental, or you can't find a participating dentist, a community health center is the national fallback. Federal health officials describe health centers as community clinics that treat medical, dental and other health needs, adjust their fees based on income and family size, and are required to serve everyone, even if they can't pay. The federal Find a Health Center tool searches by city, state or ZIP code and gives contact information and directions. Texas health officials note that some health centers offer dental services, so call and confirm the site you pick has a dentist before you go.

Getting there is part of the benefit. Every state Medicaid program must ensure necessary transportation to and from providers, emergency and non-emergency, where needed to receive covered services, and those covered services include your state's covered dental care. Ask your plan or your state's Medicaid ride line to schedule the trip; our senior transportation guide explains the options.

Find Your State's Medicaid Dental Guide

Brevy has detailed dental guides for five states so far. Open yours for its dentist-finding routes, plans and limits:

AlabamaGuide coming soon AlaskaGuide coming soon ArizonaGuide coming soon ArkansasGuide coming soon CaliforniaGuide coming soon ColoradoGuide coming soon ConnecticutGuide coming soon DelawareGuide coming soon District of ColumbiaGuide coming soon FloridaView guide GeorgiaView guide HawaiiGuide coming soon IdahoGuide coming soon IllinoisGuide coming soon IndianaGuide coming soon IowaGuide coming soon KansasGuide coming soon KentuckyGuide coming soon LouisianaGuide coming soon MaineGuide coming soon MarylandGuide coming soon MassachusettsGuide coming soon MichiganView guide MinnesotaGuide coming soon MississippiGuide coming soon MissouriGuide coming soon MontanaGuide coming soon NebraskaGuide coming soon NevadaGuide coming soon New HampshireGuide coming soon New JerseyGuide coming soon New MexicoGuide coming soon New YorkGuide coming soon North CarolinaGuide coming soon North DakotaGuide coming soon OhioGuide coming soon OklahomaGuide coming soon OregonGuide coming soon PennsylvaniaGuide coming soon Rhode IslandGuide coming soon South CarolinaGuide coming soon South DakotaGuide coming soon TennesseeView guide TexasView guide UtahGuide coming soon VermontGuide coming soon VirginiaGuide coming soon WashingtonGuide coming soon West VirginiaGuide coming soon WisconsinGuide coming soon WyomingGuide coming soon
51 states

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicaid cover dental implants for adults?

In a few states, under conditions. Kentucky covers implants with prior authorization as a last resort, when dentures cause damage or can't be worn for medical reasons. New York covers implants in certain circumstances, and Minnesota lists some implant services., California's Medicaid program exempts maxillofacial services, including dental implants, from its $1,800-per-calendar-year adult dental cap. Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin state that implants aren't covered for adults.,,,,,, For other states, the materials we reviewed don't address implants, so ask your plan.

Have Medicaid adult dental benefits changed recently?

Yes, in several states. Nevada expanded adult dental on July 1, 2026, and Colorado's $3,000 yearly limit took effect the same day., Massachusetts's Medicaid program began a $1,750-per-benefit-year adult dental limit on August 1, 2026. Montana's $1,205-per-benefit-year Medicaid cap on adult dental treatment took effect July 1, 2025. Georgia expanded adult coverage on July 1, 2024, and Nebraska removed its $750 maximum on January 1, 2024., Older summaries may not reflect these changes.

Learn More

Find personalized help checking your state's Medicaid dental coverage at brevy.com.


The information on Brevy.com is for educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional legal, financial, or medical advice. Rules vary by state and program and change frequently. Always verify with the relevant agency or a qualified professional. Brevy is not a law firm, financial advisor, or healthcare provider.

Still have questions?

Brevy answers from this guide and every other guide here, and can check what you qualify for.

BC

Brevy Care Team

Expert eldercare guidance from Brevy's team of healthcare professionals and researchers.