Medicaid can pay for adult incontinence supplies such as briefs, pull-ons and liners, which matters if you've been buying your parent's briefs out of pocket every month. Coverage starts with a practitioner's order for a medical need. Each state decides which products count and how much it will cover, and if someone told you no, there's a way to push back.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70,flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf
In This Guide
- Does Medicaid Cover Incontinence Supplies for Adults in Your State?
- What Federal Medicaid Rules Say About Incontinence Supplies
- What You Need for Medicaid to Cover Incontinence Supplies for Adults
- How Four States Cover Incontinence Supplies
- Children and Young Adults Under 21
- If Your Parent Has Medicare and Medicaid
- If Your Parent Is in a Medicaid Managed Care Plan
- If Your Parent Lives in Assisted Living or Uses a Waiver
- If Your Parent Lives in a Nursing Home
- Before You Buy Supplies Yourself
- If You're Denied or the Monthly Amount Is Cut
- Frequently Asked Questions
Does Medicaid Cover Incontinence Supplies for Adults in Your State?
If you're asking whether Medicaid covers incontinence supplies for adults, you're probably already spending real money on them, and maybe feeling a little awkward asking at all. There's no need to be: Medicaid's home health benefit treats medical supplies as required items, and each of the four states below has a published Medicaid rule or policy on incontinence supplies.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70,flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf,Tennessee Secretary of State. (2026). Rules of the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration, Bureau of TennCare, Chapter 1200-13-13 TennCare Medicaid (January 2026 revision), Rule 1200-13-13-.10 Exclusions and Rule 1200-13-13-.04. publications.tnsosfiles.com. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1200/1200-13/1200-13-13.20260126.pdf,State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf,app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500
The answer turns on your state's rules. In Florida, Florida Medicaid's continence policy covers disposable incontinence briefs, liners and protective underwear for recipients age four and older who need them as medically necessary. In Tennessee, TennCare's rule excludes incontinence products unless they're needed for a medical condition.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf,Tennessee Secretary of State. (2026). Rules of the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration, Bureau of TennCare, Chapter 1200-13-13 TennCare Medicaid (January 2026 revision), Rule 1200-13-13-.10 Exclusions and Rule 1200-13-13-.04. publications.tnsosfiles.com. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1200/1200-13/1200-13-13.20260126.pdf
What Federal Medicaid Rules Say About Incontinence Supplies
Home health is one of Medicaid's mandatory benefits, according to the Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC).U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (ecfr.gov) - 42 CFR 440.210, required services for the categorically needy. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Sep 4, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/api/renderer/v1/content/enhanced/current/title-42?chapter=IV&subchapter=C&part=440§ion=440.210 Under 42 CFR 440.70, the Medicaid home health benefit includes medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in any setting in which normal life activities take place, and the regulation calls them required items that must be covered according to the home health coverage parameters.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
What the rule says about lists and denials matters for your family:
- A state can keep a list, but the list can't be the last word. Under 42 CFR 440.70, a state may keep a preapproved list of medical supplies but is prohibited from having absolute exclusions of coverage on medical equipment, supplies or appliances.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
- There has to be a way to ask. The state must have processes and criteria for requesting items that aren't on its list, and the procedure must use reasonable and specific criteria.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
- A denial comes with hearing rights. When a state denies a request, it must tell the beneficiary about the right to a fair hearing.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
- States still set the limits. When the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) adopted these 42 CFR 440.70 provisions in 2016, it said states keep flexibility to adopt a reasonable definition of medical supplies and may set coverage standards based on medical necessity and utilization control.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
So be wary of anyone who tells you flatly that "Medicaid doesn't cover adult diapers." The real question is what your state's rules say, and what your state does when your parent's need goes beyond its standard list.
What You Need for Medicaid to Cover Incontinence Supplies for Adults
Here's what coverage generally runs through, based on the federal rule and the state examples below.
- A practitioner's order. Under 42 CFR 440.70, home health supplies are provided on a physician's orders or orders written by a licensed practitioner acting within the scope of practice state law allows, as part of a written plan of care. Ask the doctor's office how often your state requires the order to be renewed.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
- A documented medical need. Florida's policy covers recipients who require continence supplies as medically necessary, and TennCare's rule excludes incontinence products unless they're needed for a medical condition. Washington's Medicaid billing guide requires the treating practitioner's order and a documented diagnosis of incontinence.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf,Tennessee Secretary of State. (2026). Rules of the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration, Bureau of TennCare, Chapter 1200-13-13 TennCare Medicaid (January 2026 revision), Rule 1200-13-13-.10 Exclusions and Rule 1200-13-13-.04. publications.tnsosfiles.com. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1200/1200-13/1200-13-13.20260126.pdf,app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500
- A supplier your state or plan accepts. A state may limit which supplier you can use. Indiana's fee-for-service members, for example, must use one contracted mail-order vendor, and claims from other vendors are denied unless the member has Medicare or other primary insurance that covered the product.State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf
- A request for more, if the standard amount isn't enough. Washington's billing guide, for example, says medical exceptions to its maximum quantities require prior authorization. Ask your state Medicaid agency or your parent's plan how to request more.app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500
A specific order helps too. Florida's policy excludes incontinence supply orders that cover multiple people or aren't specific to a quantity or product type, so ask the doctor to name the product and how many your parent uses.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf
How Four States Cover Incontinence Supplies
Every state writes its own rules, so this section shows four states' current rules as examples, not a national list. The table covers the three states whose sources say how quantities are set: Florida and Washington publish monthly amounts, and Indiana has a nurse employed by the supplier decide products and quantities in an assessment. Tennessee's sources don't give a quantity rule, so it's covered in the text below. "Not stated" means the sources we cite don't give a statewide answer for that column.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf,State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf,app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500
If your state isn't here, look for the same kinds of documents. In these four states, the answer sits in a state Medicaid rule, a fee schedule, a provider billing guide or manual, or a member FAQ.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf,app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500,Tennessee Secretary of State. (2026). Rules of the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration, Bureau of TennCare, Chapter 1200-13-13 TennCare Medicaid (January 2026 revision), Rule 1200-13-13-.10 Exclusions and Rule 1200-13-13-.04. publications.tnsosfiles.com. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1200/1200-13/1200-13-13.20260126.pdf,State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf Then call your state Medicaid agency, or the member services number on your parent's health plan card, and ask three things in writing: whether incontinence supplies are on the state's list of preapproved supplies, what the monthly limit is, and how to request more or an item that isn't on the list.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
| State | Who's covered | Monthly amount | Above the limit | Supplier rules |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | Recipients age 4 and older who need them as medically necessary | Up to 200 units a month in total across the fee schedule's continence codes | Fee-for-service: prior authorization by the Agency's QIO vendor. Plans: ask yours | Fee-for-service Medicaid or your managed care plan, which can't set stricter limits than state policy |
| Indiana | Fee-for-service members, after a nursing assessment | Not stated; a nurse employed by the supplier assesses products, brands and quantities, and each month's order is confirmed before it ships | Not stated | Fee-for-service: J&B Medical by mail order since February 1, 2026, unless Medicare or other primary insurance covers the product. Managed care: your plan's network |
| Washington | Clients with a practitioner's order and a documented diagnosis of incontinence | Diapers 200 (age 3 and older); briefs and pull-ups 150 (age 19 and older); liners, pads and undergarments 200; bed underpads 180 | Medical exceptions require prior authorization | Not stated |
Florida. Florida Medicaid's continence policy, adopted by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, covers disposable briefs, liners, shields, guards, pads and protective underwear. It charges no copayment and excludes auto-refills of incontinence products unless otherwise specifically covered.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf
The July 1, 2026 fee schedule from the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration notes that any combination of the continence codes can be billed only up to 200 units a month in total. If your parent needs more than that in a normal month, don't ration: ask the doctor to document the real daily need, and ask Florida Medicaid or the managed care plan how to request more. More on the state's benefits is in our guide to what Florida Medicaid covers.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf
Tennessee. TennCare's rule says incontinence products, including diapers, liners and underpads, are not covered "unless needed for a medical condition," and it excludes children age 3 and younger. Its member FAQ says TennCare covers them for members over age 3 whose medical conditions keep them from controlling their bowels or bladder, and tells members to contact their TennCare or CoverKids health plan for more information, so the plan is the place to ask about quantities and suppliers.Tennessee Secretary of State. (2026). Rules of the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration, Bureau of TennCare, Chapter 1200-13-13 TennCare Medicaid (January 2026 revision), Rule 1200-13-13-.10 Exclusions and Rule 1200-13-13-.04. publications.tnsosfiles.com. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1200/1200-13/1200-13-13.20260126.pdf TennCare enrollees select a health plan when they apply.Tennessee Secretary of State. (2026). Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Chapter 1200-13-13, TennCare Medicaid — Rule .03 Enrollment, Reassignment, and Disenrollment with Managed Care Contractors (TN Secretary of State, January 2026 revision). publications.tnsosfiles.com. Retrieved Aug 1, 2026, from https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1200/1200-13/1200-13-13.20260126.pdf Our guide to TennCare incontinence supplies walks through working with the plan, and our guide to TennCare covered services covers the rest of the benefit package.
Indiana. Indiana Medicaid's fee-for-service members, including those in Traditional Medicaid, must get incontinence supplies by mail order from J&B Medical, and claims from other vendors are denied. A member whose Medicare or other primary insurance covered the product follows that plan's rules instead.State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf
Every month's order has to be confirmed with J&B Medical before it ships, and auto-shipping has ended, so a monthly reminder on your phone can keep a box from being skipped. Members in managed care plans such as Indiana PathWays for Aging get supplies through their plan's network.State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf
Washington. Washington Apple Health pays for disposable incontinence supplies without prior authorization up to the monthly limits in WAC 182-543-5500. A client can combine products only when using different ones for daytime and nighttime, and the combined total can't exceed the limit for the product with the highest limit. The Health Care Authority's July 1, 2026 billing guide lists adult briefs at up to 200 a month for clients age 20 and older, and it says the governing rule applies if the guide and the rule conflict.app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500 Our Washington Medicaid overview covers the rest of the program.
Children and Young Adults Under 21
If you're caring for a child or young adult with a disability, the rules work more in your favor. The Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit covers Medicaid enrollees under age 21, and federal law requires it to include necessary treatment to correct or ameliorate conditions found through screening, whether or not those services are covered under the state plan.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396d(r) — EPSDT definition (govinfo.gov, U.S. Code 2024 edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/link/uscode/42/1396d?link-type=html
CMS's EPSDT Guide for States says that if a supply isn't listed as covered for adults in the state Medicaid plan, the state must still provide it to an EPSDT-eligible child when it's medically necessary, and it names incontinence supplies among those items. The Guide says medical necessity for an EPSDT-eligible child has to be decided case by case, that hard limits such as budget or monetary caps can't be applied, and that additional services beyond a state's limits must be provided if they're medically necessary to correct or ameliorate the individual child's condition.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (2026). CMS — EPSDT Guide for States: Coverage in the Medicaid Benefit for Children (May 2026). medicaid.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/benefits/downloads/epsdt-coverage-guide.pdf
CMS's 2024 guidance letter to states adds that states can't apply hard limits to any EPSDT service in either fee-for-service or managed care. If a child's plan won't go past its standard monthly amount, ask the plan for the medical-necessity criteria it used and appeal with the doctor's documentation.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (2026). CMS — EPSDT Guide for States: Coverage in the Medicaid Benefit for Children (May 2026). medicaid.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/benefits/downloads/epsdt-coverage-guide.pdf
If Your Parent Has Medicare and Medicaid
Medicare's own coverage page says Original Medicare doesn't cover incontinence supplies or adult diapers. If your parent gets Medicare through a private plan instead, call that plan and ask what it offers for these supplies. Our guide to Medicare and incontinence supplies covers the Medicare side, and catheters are a separate story covered in Medicare's urological supply coverage.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Incontinence supplies & adult diapers. medicare.gov. Retrieved Jul 30, 2026, from https://www.medicare.gov/coverage/incontinence-supplies-adult-diapers
Whether Medicaid steps in depends on which kind of dual eligibility your parent has. CMS describes dually eligible people as those who have Medicare and either get full Medicaid benefits or get help with Medicare premiums or cost-sharing through a Medicare Savings Program. CMS says Medicaid may cover medical costs that Medicare doesn't cover.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Beneficiaries dually eligible medicare medicaid. cms.gov. Retrieved Aug 7, 2026, from https://www.cms.gov/files/document/beneficiaries-dually-eligible-medicare-medicaid.pdf The Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) program pays Medicare premiums and Part A and B cost-sharing for Medicare-covered services; the Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) program pays only the Part B premium. Neither pays for supplies Medicare doesn't cover.U.S. Social Security Administration. (2026). SSA - POMS: HI 00815.023 - Medicare Savings Programs Income and Resource Limits - 02/26/2026. secure.ssa.gov. Retrieved Aug 7, 2026, from https://secure.ssa.gov/poms.nsf/lnx/0600815023
If your parent has full Medicaid and a supplier says you need a Medicare denial first, there's good news. A 2019 CMS bulletin told states they need not obtain a Medicare denial for supplies Medicare routinely denies as non-covered, and named incontinence supplies as the example. States can keep a "Medicare Non-Covered Items" list to process those claims right away. CMS framed this as guidance to states, so ask your state Medicaid agency whether it uses that approach.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (2019). CMCS Informational Bulletin, January 4, 2019 — Strategies to Support Dually Eligible Individuals' Access to Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib010419.pdf Our dual eligibility guide explains how the two programs fit together.
If Your Parent Is in a Medicaid Managed Care Plan
If a plan's answer feels stingier than it should be, know the floor. Under 42 CFR 438.210, a state's contract with a Medicaid managed care plan must require covered services to be furnished in an amount, duration and scope no less than what fee-for-service Medicaid provides.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.210 — Coverage and authorization of services (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-438/subpart-D/section-438.210 Florida's continence policy, for example, says services to recipients in a Florida Medicaid managed care plan must not be subject to more stringent coverage limits than Florida Medicaid's own policies.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf The contract's definition of medically necessary services can't be more restrictive than the one the state Medicaid program uses, including quantitative treatment limits.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.210 — Coverage and authorization of services (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-438/subpart-D/section-438.210
A state's contract may let plans limit services for medical necessity or utilization control if services can still reasonably achieve their purpose, but plans may not arbitrarily deny or reduce a required service solely because of diagnosis, type of illness or condition.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.210 — Coverage and authorization of services (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-438/subpart-D/section-438.210
For a child under 21, any EPSDT benefit a managed care plan doesn't provide stays the state Medicaid agency's responsibility, including necessary services above a plan's contract limits.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.210 — Coverage and authorization of services (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-438/subpart-D/section-438.210
If Your Parent Lives in Assisted Living or Uses a Waiver
If your parent lives in assisted living or gets help through a home and community-based services waiver, ask about the home health route anyway. The federal rule describes covered supplies as ones suitable for use in any setting in which normal life activities take place, and when CMS adopted it in 2016, CMS said states may not carve home health equipment out and offer it only to people who qualify for a 1915(c) or 1915(i) program.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
A waiver can add its own help. Indiana's PathWays waiver serves people 65 and older, and people 60 to 64 with disabilities, who meet a nursing facility level of care.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). CMS Medicaid.gov - Indiana waiver factsheet: IN PathWays for Aging Waiver (2407.R00.00). medicaid.gov. Retrieved Jul 17, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/IN#2407 Its services may include assisted living and specialized medical equipment and supplies.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). CMS Medicaid.gov - Indiana waiver factsheet: IN PathWays for Aging Waiver (2407.R00.00). medicaid.gov. Retrieved Jul 17, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/IN#2407,Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). IN PathWays for Aging Waiver (2407.R00.00) — Medicaid.gov (CMS). medicaid.gov. Retrieved Jul 17, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/165531 If your parent is on a waiver, ask the case manager whether it covers incontinence supplies and how they're ordered.
If Your Parent Lives in a Nursing Home
If your parent is in a nursing home, buying briefs separately during a covered stay shouldn't be necessary. Under federal nursing-facility rules at 42 CFR 483.10, "incontinence care and supplies" are among the routine personal hygiene items and services a facility must not charge a resident for during a covered Medicare or Medicaid stay.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 483.10(f)(11)(i) — Resident Rights, services included in Medicare or Medicaid payment (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-G/part-483/subpart-B/section-483.10
Federal rules also bar the facility from charging a resident's personal funds for any item or service Medicaid or Medicare pays for, apart from applicable deductible and coinsurance amounts. If a statement shows a charge for incontinence supplies, ask the facility to explain it in writing. Our guide to the personal needs allowance explains what that money is for.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 483.10(f)(11)(i) — Resident Rights, services included in Medicare or Medicaid payment (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-G/part-483/subpart-B/section-483.10
Indiana and Florida each address facility residents in their own rules. Indiana pays for incontinence supplies for residents of nursing facilities, group homes and intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities through the facility's per diem rate, and the facility can't bill separately for them. Florida's continence policy excludes these supplies for recipients 21 and older who live in institutional settings such as skilled nursing facilities.State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf,flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf
Before You Buy Supplies Yourself
When you're worried about running out, buying a case at the store and sorting it out later feels like the only option. Before you do, know how Medicaid pays. Medicaid generally pays the provider, not the family, and the only federal route for paying a member directly is for doctor's or dentist's services, which leaves out supplies (42 CFR 447.10 and 447.25).U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 447.10 — Prohibition against reassignment of provider claims (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-447/subpart-A/section-447.10
So the best first step is the order and an enrolled supplier, not the store. If you've already been paying, there's one possible silver lining. In a state that runs a medically needy (spend-down) program, federal rules require the agency to deduct incurred expenses for necessary medical and remedial services that aren't subject to payment by a third party, including services recognized under state law but not included in the state plan, and plan services above the agency's limits on amount, duration or scope. The agency may set reasonable limits on what it deducts, so keep your receipts and ask whether supply purchases count.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 435.831(d), (e), (f), (g)(4), (h)(1)(ii), (i)(5) — Income eligibility, medically needy: deductible incurred expenses (eCFR, current edition). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/section-435.831 Medically needy coverage is a state option, so check whether your state offers it.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 435.301 — Medically needy: general rules (eCFR, current edition). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/section-435.301
If You're Denied or the Monthly Amount Is Cut
A denial letter can feel like the end of the road, especially when you're already worn out. It isn't. Federal rules give Medicaid applicants and enrollees a right to a fair hearing, including over a change in the amount of services and a prior authorization decision.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 USC 1396a(a)(3) — State plans for medical assistance (U.S. Code on govinfo.gov, GPO, most recent edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 3, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/link/uscode/42/1396a?link-type=html
If your parent is in a managed care plan:
- Read the notice and ask for the criteria. A plan's denial notice must explain its reasons and your right to free copies of the records behind the decision, including the medical-necessity criteria.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.404 — Timely and adequate notice of adverse benefit determination: (a) written notice, (b)(6) continued benefits, (c)(1) timing (eCFR, current). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Aug 8, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/section-438.404
- File the plan appeal within 60 days. Under 42 CFR 438.402, an enrollee has 60 calendar days from the date on the notice to appeal to the plan, orally or in writing.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.402 — General requirements: Grievance and appeal system (eCFR, current). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Aug 8, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/section-438.402
- Then ask for a state fair hearing. If a Medicaid managed care plan upholds its decision, the enrollee must have no less than 90 and no more than 120 calendar days from the date of the plan's resolution notice to request a state fair hearing; each state sets the exact deadline within it. If the plan doesn't follow the federal notice and timing requirements for plan appeals (42 CFR 438.408), the enrollee can go straight to a hearing.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.408(e)(2), (f)(1), (f)(1)(i)-(ii), (f)(2) and (f)(3) — content of the appeal-resolution notice; availability of a State fair hearing, deemed exhaustion and external medical review; the 90-to-120-calendar-day request window; the parties (eCFR, current). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Sep 4, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-438/subpart-F/section-438.408
- Move fast to keep supplies coming. When a Medicaid managed care plan cuts an amount it already approved, continued benefits during the plan appeal depend on filing for them within 10 calendar days after the plan sends its notice, or by the cut's effective date if that's later. After the plan decides the appeal, continued benefits end if the enrollee doesn't request a state fair hearing and continuation of benefits within 10 calendar days after the plan sends the notice of an adverse resolution, so don't wait out the 90-to-120-day hearing window if your parent needs the supplies in the meantime. If the plan's decision is upheld, the plan may be allowed to recover the cost of supplies sent while the appeal and hearing were pending.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.408(e)(2), (f)(1), (f)(1)(i)-(ii), (f)(2) and (f)(3) — content of the appeal-resolution notice; availability of a State fair hearing, deemed exhaustion and external medical review; the 90-to-120-calendar-day request window; the parties (eCFR, current). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Sep 4, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-438/subpart-F/section-438.408
If your parent has fee-for-service Medicaid: the state must generally send notice at least 10 days before it reduces covered services. If you request a hearing before the date of action, the agency generally can't reduce the supplies until the hearing decision, though it may recover the cost if its action is upheld.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2025). 42 CFR 431.201 (CFR 2025 edition), Definitions, govinfo.gov. govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 3, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2025-title42-vol4/xml/CFR-2025-title42-vol4-sec431-201.xml Federal Medicaid rules cap the time to request a fair hearing at 90 days from the date the notice is mailed, and a state may set a shorter window, so the deadline that applies is the one your parent's state sets.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 431.221(d) — Request for a hearing (eCFR, current). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Aug 8, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-431/subpart-E/section-431.221
Ask the doctor for a letter explaining why your parent needs the product and quantity requested, and send it with the appeal. Our guides to Medicaid appeals and fair hearings and keeping coverage during an appeal walk through each step.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a prescription for Medicaid to cover incontinence supplies?
Yes, in practice. Under 42 CFR 440.70, Medicaid home health supplies are provided on a physician's or other licensed practitioner's orders as part of a written plan of care, so ask the doctor for an order that names the product and how many your parent uses, and set a reminder to renew it on your state's schedule.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
How many incontinence supplies will Medicaid cover per month?
It depends on your state: Florida's fee schedule allows up to 200 units a month in total across its continence codes, for example, and Washington sets limits by product type. A Medicaid managed care plan can't furnish less than fee-for-service Medicaid would, so ask for your parent's limit in writing along with the process for requesting more. Before you call, count how many your parent really uses in a typical day and week. A concrete number is easier for the doctor to document and harder for a plan to wave away.flrules.org. (2023). Florida Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Medical Supply Services Coverage Policy: Continence, Ostomy, and Wound Care (AHCA, December 2023; incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-4.076, F.A.C., Ref-16183, flrules.org). Retrieved Oct 15, 2026, from https://flrules.org/gateway/readRefFile.asp?refId=16183&filename=59G-4.076%20Durable%20Medical%20Equipment%20and%20Medical%20Supply%20Services%20Coverage%20Policy%20Continence%20Ostomy%20and%20Wound%20Care.pdf,app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500,U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). 42 CFR 438.210 — Coverage and authorization of services (eCFR). ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-438/subpart-D/section-438.210
Can I choose the brand of incontinence supplies?
Not always. In Indiana's fee-for-service program, a nurse employed by the supplier assesses each member to decide products, brands and quantities. If the covered product doesn't work for your parent, ask the doctor to document why a different one is medically necessary and request it through your state's or plan's process.State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf,U.S. Government Publishing Office. (n.d.). eCFR - 42 CFR 440.70 Home health services. ecfr.gov. Retrieved Oct 2, 2026, from https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.70
Does Medicaid pay for underpads and liners too?
In some states, yes. Washington's rule, WAC 182-543-5500, limits liners and caps bed underpads at 180 a month; Indiana's fee-for-service vendor supplies underpads and gloves along with diapers; and TennCare's rule lists diapers, liners and underpads among the incontinence products it excludes unless they're needed for a medical condition. Other items vary by state, so ask your state or plan for its list.app.leg.wa.gov. (n.d.). WAC 182-543-5500 — Medical supplies and related services (Washington State Legislature). Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=182-543-5500,State of Indiana. (2026). IHCP provider reference module — Durable and Home Medical Equipment and Supplies (published Aug. 13, 2026; policies and procedures as of Feb. 1, 2026; version 7.0). in.gov. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://www.in.gov/medicaid/providers/files/modules/durable-and-home-medical-equipment-and-supplies.pdf,Tennessee Secretary of State. (2026). Rules of the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration, Bureau of TennCare, Chapter 1200-13-13 TennCare Medicaid (January 2026 revision), Rule 1200-13-13-.10 Exclusions and Rule 1200-13-13-.04. publications.tnsosfiles.com. Retrieved Oct 14, 2026, from https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1200/1200-13/1200-13-13.20260126.pdf
Learn More
Find personalized help getting Medicaid to cover your family's incontinence supplies at brevy.com.
The information on Brevy.com is for educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional legal, financial, or medical advice. Rules vary by state and program and change frequently. Always verify with the relevant agency or a qualified professional. Brevy is not a law firm, financial advisor, or healthcare provider.
Still have questions?
Brevy answers from this guide and every other guide here, and can check what you qualify for.