If you are trying to work out how to pay for assisted living in Missouri, you are probably weighing more than one source of money, and it helps to see how each one fits.
Assisted living in Missouri runs about $5,400 a month in CareScout's data tables, or roughly $63,960 to $64,800 a year.assets.carescout.com. (2025). CareScout - Cost of Care Survey 2025: Ranked Median Costs by State Data Tables. Retrieved Jul 30, 2026, from https://assets.carescout.com/x/5c90319b6a/298701.pdf Families can combine personal income and savings, long-term care insurance, VA benefits for those who served, and state help such as Missouri's Supplemental Nursing Care cash benefit for aged, blind and disabled adults living in assisted living.Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (2015). HHS/ASPE - Compendium of Residential Care and Assisted Living Regulations and Policy, 2015 Edition: Missouri profile. aspe.hhs.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/migrated_legacy_files/72981/15alcom-MO.pdf MO HealthNet, Missouri's Medicaid program, pays for nursing-facility care, which matters if needs rise.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm This guide walks through each source, with Missouri's real numbers, so you can build a plan that lasts.
In This Guide
- What Assisted Living Costs in Missouri
- Private Pay: How to Pay for Assisted Living in Missouri
- Long-Term Care Insurance
- VA Aid and Attendance
- MO HealthNet and Assisted Living
- Putting Together a Plan to Pay for Assisted Living in Missouri
- Frequently Asked Questions
What Assisted Living Costs in Missouri
Seeing the monthly number for the first time is often the moment this gets real, so it helps to start with what you are actually planning against. Assisted living in Missouri runs about $5,400 a month as CareScout's data tables report it (about $63,960 to $64,800 a year, depending on the CareScout publication), well below the national median, based on the CareScout 2025 Cost of Care Survey.assets.carescout.com. (2025). CareScout - Cost of Care Survey 2025: Ranked Median Costs by State Data Tables. Retrieved Jul 30, 2026, from https://assets.carescout.com/x/5c90319b6a/298701.pdf CareScout collects these rates by metropolitan area and cautions that actual costs vary with individual care needs, provider availability, and local market conditions, so what you pay in any one Missouri market can differ from the statewide median.assets.carescout.com. (2025). CareScout - Cost of Care Survey 2025: Ranked Median Costs by State Data Tables. Retrieved Jul 30, 2026, from https://assets.carescout.com/x/5c90319b6a/298701.pdf
Here is how Missouri's median long-term care costs compare with the national figures, so you can see where your parent's setting sits.assets.carescout.com. (2025). CareScout - Cost of Care Survey 2025: Ranked Median Costs by State Data Tables. Retrieved Jul 30, 2026, from https://assets.carescout.com/x/5c90319b6a/298701.pdf,ltcfeds.gov. (2024). FLTCIP (ltcfeds.gov, U.S. Office of Personnel Management) - Long Term Care Costs (FLTCIP 2024 Cost of Care Survey). Retrieved Sep 4, 2026, from https://www.ltcfeds.gov/long-term-care/costs
| Care setting | Missouri median (2025) | National median (2025) |
|---|---|---|
| Assisted living (yearly) | about $63,960 to $64,800 | about $74,400 |
| Non-medical caregiver (yearly) | about $75,504 | about $80,080 |
| Nursing home, semi-private (yearly) | about $80,893 | about $114,975 |
| Nursing home, private (yearly) | about $91,250 | about $129,575 |
The national non-medical caregiver figure is CareScout's $35-an-hour median annualized at 44 hours of care a week, about $80,080 a year.ltcfeds.gov. (2024). FLTCIP (ltcfeds.gov, U.S. Office of Personnel Management) - Long Term Care Costs (FLTCIP 2024 Cost of Care Survey). Retrieved Sep 4, 2026, from https://www.ltcfeds.gov/long-term-care/costs
Treat the median as a planning anchor, not a quote. Ask each assisted living community for an all-in monthly price that separates the base rent from the care-level add-ons, because that all-in number is what every source below has to cover.
Private Pay: How to Pay for Assisted Living in Missouri
Private money often carries the early months, and the hardest part is watching savings drain without a plan for what comes next. Mapping it out in advance is what turns that worry into a timeline you can act on. The common sources families draw on are:
- Income. Social Security, pensions, and retirement-account withdrawals are the steadiest base.
- Savings and investments. Drawn down on a planned schedule, so you know how many months or years they cover at about $5,400 a month.assets.carescout.com. (2025). CareScout - Cost of Care Survey 2025: Ranked Median Costs by State Data Tables. Retrieved Jul 30, 2026, from https://assets.carescout.com/x/5c90319b6a/298701.pdf
- The family home. Selling the home, or borrowing against it, can turn home equity into money for care. Get advice before deciding, especially if a spouse still lives there.
- Life insurance and annuities. If your parent already holds a life-insurance policy or an annuity, ask the insurer or a financial adviser what it can pay toward care before counting on it.
Build a written timeline of how long private funds will last. Knowing the month at which savings would run low is exactly what lets you plan for MO HealthNet in time, instead of in a crisis.
Long-Term Care Insurance
If your parent bought a long-term care insurance policy, it may help with the assisted living bill, depending on its terms, and pulling the policy out now is worth the hour it takes. Read it for three things:
- How much it pays. The daily or monthly dollar figure the policy pays out.
- The elimination period. How long the policy waits before it starts paying, which most policies let the buyer set at 30, 60, or 90 days at purchase.Administration for Community Living. (n.d.). What is Long-term Care Insurance?. acl.gov. Retrieved Oct 12, 2026, from https://acl.gov/ltc/costs-and-who-pays/what-is-long-term-care-insurance
- The covered setting. Whether assisted living, not just nursing-home care, is a setting the policy will pay for. That depends on the policy's own terms, so check its list of covered settings rather than assuming.
A policy starts paying only once two conditions are met. The first is a benefit trigger, which the insurer decides through its own nurse or social-worker assessment; most policies pay when someone needs help with two or more of six daily activities, such as bathing and dressing, or has a cognitive impairment. The second is the elimination period, the time that must pass after that trigger occurs before payment for services begins, and your parent pays for any care received during that stretch. Some policies count only paid care toward it, so days a family member helps without pay may not count.Administration for Community Living. (n.d.). What is Long-term Care Insurance?. acl.gov. Retrieved Oct 12, 2026, from https://acl.gov/ltc/costs-and-who-pays/what-is-long-term-care-insurance Call the insurer as soon as care needs begin, so the assessment is not what holds things up.
VA Aid and Attendance
If your parent or their late spouse served in wartime, this source is worth checking even if you assume your parent will not qualify. A wartime veteran or a surviving spouse who needs help with daily activities may qualify for VA Aid and Attendance, an add-on to the VA pension that provides extra monthly income you can apply to assisted living. Because the benefit is federal, the amounts are set nationally rather than by Missouri.
Eligibility turns on these tests:U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
- Wartime service. At least 90 days of active duty with at least one day during a wartime period for those who started service before September 8, 1980; generally at least 24 months for those who enlisted after September 7, 1980.
- Discharge, and age or disability. No dishonorable discharge, plus at least one of these: age 65 or older, a permanent and total disability, a nursing-home stay for long-term care because of a disability, or receiving Social Security Disability Insurance or Supplemental Security Income.
- A care need. Needing another person's help with daily activities such as bathing, feeding, and dressing, or being largely confined to bed by illness, being in a nursing home because of a disability, or having severely limited eyesight.
- Net worth under the limit. Net worth under $163,699 for 2026. VA counts yearly income for VA purposes as well as assets, including a spouse's, but not the home your parent lives in, a car, or basic household items.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Eligibility For Veterans Pension. va.gov. Retrieved Jul 31, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/eligibility/
VA sets these maximums as annual amounts and pays a twelfth of the award each month. In 2026, Aid and Attendance is worth up to $29,093 a year for a single veteran, up to $34,488 a year for a veteran with one dependent, and up to $18,697 a year for a surviving spouse with no dependents. Those maximums are ceilings, not payments: VA pays the maximum less your parent's income for VA purposes, and unreimbursed medical expenses above 5 percent of the maximum can be deducted from that income.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/ Apply through the VA pension program, and it is worth applying with help from an accredited VA representative even if you are unsure your parent qualifies.
MO HealthNet and Assisted Living
It is worth being precise here about what Missouri's own pages say. MO HealthNet, Missouri's Medicaid program, pays for vendor care, which includes care in a nursing facility, under Missouri's own eligibility standards.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm Assisted living is a different question. Whether MO HealthNet itself pays any part of an assisted living resident's room and board is not stated on the state pages we rely on, so ask the Department of Social Services rather than assume it is ruled out.Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (2015). HHS/ASPE - Compendium of Residential Care and Assisted Living Regulations and Policy, 2015 Edition: Missouri profile. aspe.hhs.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/migrated_legacy_files/72981/15alcom-MO.pdf Two Missouri programs are worth asking about:
- Supplemental Nursing Care. The Department of Social Services runs a Supplemental Nursing Care benefit that provides monthly cash assistance to cover cost-of-living fees for aged, blind and disabled adults living in assisted living and residential care facilities.Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (2015). HHS/ASPE - Compendium of Residential Care and Assisted Living Regulations and Policy, 2015 Edition: Missouri profile. aspe.hhs.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/migrated_legacy_files/72981/15alcom-MO.pdf
- The Aged and Disabled Waiver. Missouri's Aged and Disabled Waiver is a Medicaid home and community based services waiver that offers in-home services, such as homemaker, chore, respite, home-delivered meals, and adult day care, to older adults who meet a nursing facility level of care.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Missouri Waiver Factsheet. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/MO The state describes it as in-home help, not as a way to pay an assisted living facility, so it matters most if your parent could stay at home with support. Families can ask the Division of Senior and Disability Services about it at 866-835-3505.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (n.d.). Missouri Waiver Factsheet. medicaid.gov. Retrieved Sep 4, 2026, from https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/Waiver-Descript-Factsheet/MO
If nursing-facility care becomes the plan, Missouri's financial rules matter. The countable-asset limit for a single applicant is $6,220.50 effective July 1, 2026, up from $6,068.80, and $12,441.00 for two people who are both aged or disabled. Where one spouse stays in the community, Missouri instead runs a Division of Assets that protects a spousal share of between $32,532 and $162,660.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm
If your parent's income is high, that does not end the conversation. Missouri does not apply a simple income cap to a nursing-home resident: the resident keeps a $50-a-month personal needs allowance and pays the rest of their income, minus allowable deductions such as medical insurance premiums, to the facility as "surplus," and an applicant whose income is too high may still qualify through Missouri's spend-down, whose limit is $1,131 a month for one aged or disabled person effective April 1, 2026.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm Federal law also sets a 60-month look-back for assets given away for less than fair market value.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm If your parent's finances are near these limits, getting advice before applying can prevent costly missteps.
Putting Together a Plan to Pay for Assisted Living in Missouri
You may need to layer several of these sources, and there is no shame in needing all of them. Private income and savings cover the early months; VA Aid and Attendance or long-term care insurance fills part of the gap for those who qualify; and state help fills in where it can: Supplemental Nursing Care toward assisted living fees for those who qualify, and MO HealthNet nursing-facility care if needs rise, once your parent meets Missouri's asset limit and income rules.Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (2015). HHS/ASPE - Compendium of Residential Care and Assisted Living Regulations and Policy, 2015 Edition: Missouri profile. aspe.hhs.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/migrated_legacy_files/72981/15alcom-MO.pdf,U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm
Your concrete next steps:
Frequently Asked Questions
Does MO HealthNet pay for assisted living in Missouri?
Missouri's own pages do not say that it does. MO HealthNet pays for care in a nursing facility, but whether it pays any part of an assisted living resident's room and board is not stated on the state pages we rely on, so ask the Department of Social Services rather than assume either way.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm,Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (2015). HHS/ASPE - Compendium of Residential Care and Assisted Living Regulations and Policy, 2015 Edition: Missouri profile. aspe.hhs.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/migrated_legacy_files/72981/15alcom-MO.pdf The state's Supplemental Nursing Care benefit does provide monthly cash assistance toward the cost-of-living fees of aged, blind and disabled adults living in assisted living and residential care facilities.Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (2015). HHS/ASPE - Compendium of Residential Care and Assisted Living Regulations and Policy, 2015 Edition: Missouri profile. aspe.hhs.gov. Retrieved Sep 29, 2026, from https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/migrated_legacy_files/72981/15alcom-MO.pdf
How much does assisted living cost in Missouri?
About $5,400 a month (roughly $63,960 to $64,800 a year, depending on the CareScout publication), well below the national median. That is a statewide median, and CareScout cautions that actual costs vary with individual care needs, provider availability, and local market conditions.assets.carescout.com. (2025). CareScout - Cost of Care Survey 2025: Ranked Median Costs by State Data Tables. Retrieved Jul 30, 2026, from https://assets.carescout.com/x/5c90319b6a/298701.pdf
What is the MO HealthNet asset limit for a single applicant?
The countable-asset limit for a single MO HealthNet applicant is $6,220.50 effective July 1, 2026, up from $6,068.80, and $12,441.00 for two people who are both aged or disabled. An applicant whose income is too high may still qualify through Missouri's spend-down, whose limit is $1,131 a month for one aged or disabled person effective April 1, 2026.U.S. Government Publishing Office. (2024). 42 U.S.C. 1396p - Liens, adjustments and recoveries, and transfers of assets (govinfo, United States Code, 2024 Edition). govinfo.gov. Retrieved Oct 13, 2026, from https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title42/html/USCODE-2024-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396p.htm
Can VA benefits help pay for assisted living in Missouri?
Yes. A wartime veteran or surviving spouse who needs help with daily activities may qualify for VA Aid and Attendance, worth up to $29,093 a year for a single veteran in 2026 and up to $18,697 a year for a surviving spouse with no dependents, set at federal amounts and paid monthly, that can be applied to assisted living. Those figures are ceilings: VA pays the maximum less income for VA purposes.U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (n.d.). Current Pension Rates For Veterans. va.gov. Retrieved Sep 3, 2026, from https://www.va.gov/pension/veterans-pension-rates/
Will long-term care insurance cover assisted living?
It depends on the policy's own terms, so check whether assisted living is a listed covered setting, how much the policy pays, and its elimination period. That period is the time that must pass after the insurer's assessment finds a benefit trigger before payment for services begins, and your parent pays for care during it.Administration for Community Living. (n.d.). What is Long-term Care Insurance?. acl.gov. Retrieved Oct 12, 2026, from https://acl.gov/ltc/costs-and-who-pays/what-is-long-term-care-insurance Contact the insurer as soon as care needs begin so its assessment can get underway.
Learn More
Find personalized help paying for assisted living in Missouri at brevy.com.
The information on Brevy.com is for educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional legal, financial, or medical advice. Rules vary by state and program and change frequently. Always verify with the relevant agency or a qualified professional. Brevy is not a law firm, financial advisor, or healthcare provider.
Still have questions?
Brevy answers from this guide and every other guide here, and can check what you qualify for.