If your parent lives on SSI, an SSI state supplement for board and care homes can raise the $994 federal maximum to $1,045.77 a month in Vermont or $1,931.00 in Hawaii in 2026.,,

When a licensed small home costs more than that check, it's natural to wonder how anyone on SSI manages it, and part of the answer is a state payment that's easy to miss. Below are the 2026 amounts for 14 states and DC from official Social Security Administration (SSA) or state sources, who the money goes to, what your parent keeps, and where to apply. New to these homes? Our guide to board and care homes covers what they offer.

In This Guide

What Is an SSI State Supplement?

It's a lot to absorb when the check your mother has lived on for years suddenly has to cover a care home. The reassuring part is that in many states, SSI isn't only the federal amount.

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is the federal monthly benefit for people with very little income and resources; in 2026 the countable-resource limit is $2,000 for an individual and $3,000 for a couple. Our SSI income limits guide walks through the full financial test.

Many states add a state supplement, which SSA calls a State Supplementary Payment (SSP), on top of federal SSI. States fund it themselves to raise the total above the federal rate, and the amount isn't fixed: SSA says it varies with income, living arrangements and other factors. That's why the rows below are tied to specific licensed settings rather than to the state as a whole.

Who funds the supplement and who runs it are separate questions. SSA administers the supplement for a list of states and the District of Columbia, including the eight states and DC in our first table below. Some are dual-administration states, where SSA handles some categories and the state handles others. The remaining states pay and administer their own supplements and have to be contacted directly. Massachusetts is one of them.

2026 SSI State Supplement Amounts for Board and Care Homes

Every figure below is for one person and comes from the agency source linked in its row.

The first table covers states where SSA pays the supplement. These figures are payment levels: the most SSI and the state supplement together can pay, before your parent's other countable income is subtracted.

State Setting SSI + supplement (monthly maximum) State's share Resident keeps Source
California Licensed non-medical out-of-home care, including board and care homes $1,626.07 $632.07 At least $182.00 California PIN 25-19
District of Columbia Adult foster care home (certified residential facility or assisted living facility): 50 or fewer beds / more than 50 beds $1,675 / $1,785 $681 / $791 $141 District FAQ (PDF)
Hawaii Care or foster home, or domiciliary care with five or fewer residents / domiciliary care with six or more $1,823.00 / $1,931.00 $829.00 / $937.00 Not stated in our source SSA POMS SI 01415.058
Iowa Certified family-life home $1,136.00 from SSA, plus $20 from Iowa if SSI is the only income ($1,156 standard) $142.00 $130 Iowa standards page
Michigan Domiciliary care / personal care / home for the aged $1,081.00 / $1,151.50 / $1,173.30 $87.00 / $157.50 / $179.30 At least $44.00 Michigan RFT 248
New Jersey Assisted living residence or comprehensive personal care home / residential health care facility $1,144.05 / $1,204.05 $150.05 / $210.05 See note below SSA POMS SI 01415.058
Pennsylvania Personal care home (SSA: personal care boarding home) / domiciliary care $1,633.30 / $1,628.30 $639.30 / $634.30 $85 in a personal care home SSA POMS SI 01415.058
Rhode Island Residential care or assisted living certified by the state $1,326.00 $332.00 At least $55.00 SSA POMS SI 01415.058
Vermont Level III residential care or assisted living / Level IV residential care / custodial care family home $1,045.77 / $1,233.62 / $1,099.60 $51.77 / $239.62 / $105.60 Not stated in our source SSA POMS SI 01415.058

Sources for each row: California, the District of Columbia, Hawaii, Iowa, Michigan, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

If your mother lives in an Iowa family-life home on SSI alone, Iowa adds $20 a month to SSA's check, bringing her to Iowa's $1,156 standard for 2026; SSA allows a $20 income disregard that Iowa's program doesn't, so Iowa caps SSA's supplement at $142.00. In New Jersey, the $147.65 monthly maintenance needs allowance you may see for Medicaid long-term-care recipients in an assisted living residence or comprehensive personal care home in 2026 is a Medicaid figure, not SSA's, so it isn't in the table.

The second table covers states that run their own programs. Their figures measure different things, so read the third column before comparing them with the first table.

State Program and who runs it What the figure is 2026 amount Resident keeps Source
Florida Optional State Supplementation (OSS), run by the Florida Department of Children and Families Income standard / provider rate / maximum OSS payment, for assisted living facilities, adult family-care homes and residential treatment facilities $1,072.40 / $1,018.40 / $184.40 $160 Florida Appendix A-12
Kentucky State Supplementation, run by the Department for Community Based Services Standard of need; the payment is the standard minus countable income $1,610 personal care home / $1,166 family care home $60 / $40 Kentucky Operation Manual Vol. V
North Carolina State/County Special Assistance, run by county departments of social services Facility rate (the maintenance amount adds the allowance) Basic $1,397 ($1,467); Enhanced, for a special care unit $1,792 ($1,862) $70 NC SA Manual, Jan. 2026
Virginia Auxiliary Grant, run by local departments of social services Maximum rate for an approved assisted living facility or adult foster care home $2,130; $2,450 in Planning District 8 (Northern Virginia) $87 Virginia rate letter

Sources for each row: Florida, Kentucky, North Carolina and Virginia.

If your parent is in Florida, don't read $184.40 as her whole check. In 2026 it's the most Florida's Optional State Supplementation (OSS) payment can be, and the $1,072.40 monthly OSS income standard is the income level the program works from. In North Carolina, the Enhanced rate applies if Mom lives in a licensed Special Assistance special care unit and has a diagnosis of Alzheimer's or a related dementia.

The third table covers New York and Massachusetts, whose 2026 standards come from state benefit tables.

State Setting SSI + supplement (monthly standard) State's share Resident keeps Source
New York Level 1 family-type home / Level 2 residence for adults / Level 3 adult home or enriched housing program $1,260.48 / $1,429 / $1,688 in New York City, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester and Rockland; $1,222.48 / $1,399 / $1,688 elsewhere $266.48 / $435 / $694; elsewhere $228.48 / $405 / $694 At least $191 / $219 / $262 New York 2026 SSI and SSP chart (PDF)
Massachusetts Licensed rest home / assisted living residence served by a certified Group Adult Foster Care (GAFC) provider $1,287.00 / $1,448.00 Not stated in our source $72.80 in a rest home MassHealth standards table

Sources for each row: New York and Massachusetts.

In New York, the state share is what your parent receives if she has no countable income. In Massachusetts, the assisted living standard applies only if the state certifies that your parent lives in an assisted living residence served by a GAFC provider, gets no other rental assistance, and pays a fixed, non-separable fee for rent and services, so ask each residence you tour whether a certified GAFC provider serves it.

How the Supplement Works Once Your Parent Moves In

A number in a table isn't the same as what reaches Mom each month. Three mechanics shape it.

First, other income shrinks the payment. In California and Pennsylvania, SSA subtracts your parent's countable income when it figures the federal payment, and any income left over comes off the state supplement level. Michigan says countable income can lower the total. Kentucky and Virginia work the same way in their own terms. In Kentucky, the payment is the standard minus countable income, so in 2026 an SSI recipient with $994 a month in a personal care home receives $616 a month from Kentucky State Supplementation. In Virginia, the Auxiliary Grant payment is the rate plus the personal needs allowance, minus countable income.

So if Mom's Social Security puts her countable income above $994, she isn't necessarily shut out. In California and Pennsylvania, income left after the federal payment reaches zero comes off the state supplement level, so countable income between $994 and California's $1,626.07 standard can still leave a smaller state supplement. Massachusetts deducts income above the federal rate from its standard the same way, and Kentucky pays the difference between its $1,610 personal care home standard and her countable income.

Second, most of the money is for the home. In Michigan, the state says these SSI payments include money for the cost of care plus an incidental allowance, and SSA's check includes the state-funded benefit. In the District of Columbia, SSA pays SSI and the supplement as one payment to your parent or a representative payee; it goes straight to an assisted living facility only if SSA approves the facility as the payee.

Third, your parent keeps a personal needs allowance, the "Resident keeps" column above. Pennsylvania's rules require a personal care home's contract to let an SSI resident keep at least the current allowance, and a contract that says otherwise isn't valid. In 2026, Rhode Island lets residents of state-licensed assisted living and residential care keep at least $55 a month from their SSI before paying any monthly fees. Our personal needs allowance guide explains how the allowance works more broadly.

When the Rate Is Also the Most the Home Can Charge

In a few states, the supplement rate isn't only what the program pays. It's also a limit on what the home can collect from a resident on the program.

  • North Carolina: The State/County Special Assistance rate is the maximum monthly amount a Special Assistance facility may charge a Special Assistance recipient. If a facility chooses to offer a lower rate, the lower rate is what the calculation uses. To take part, an adult care home must agree to accept the state rate.

  • Virginia: To participate in the Auxiliary Grant, an assisted living facility signs a provider agreement to accept the established rate as payment in full for services rendered. It also agrees not to charge the resident, family or authorized representative a security deposit or other compensation as a condition of admission or continued stay. Providers must give each recipient a written list of the goods and services the grant covers, stating that they can't charge more for anything on it.

  • Kentucky: A personal care home must accept the 2026 State Supplementation standard of need minus the personal needs allowance ($1,610 minus $60 a month) as full payment for the cost of care; for a family care home, it's $1,166 minus $40.

  • Michigan: Michigan's 2026 reference tables set the "maximum monthly amount an individual is to pay the provider" at $1,037.00 a month for domiciliary care, $1,107.50 for personal care and $1,129.30 for a home for the aged.

  • California: In 2026, a board and care resident on SSI/SSP gets a personal and incidental needs allowance of at least $182.00 a month that must go to them. A resident with income beyond the SSI/SSP check can be charged the $1,444.07 monthly basic-services amount, plus an extra $20 if they agree to pay it in the admission agreement.

In the other states, the "Resident keeps" column is the protection to know. Iowa's 2026 standard, for example, has a family-life home resident pay the home $1,026 a month and keep $130. Before your parent moves in, ask the home in writing what it charges a resident on SSI and the supplement, and what that price includes.

What the Numbers Look Like in California

California's licensing agency spells out how its standard is divided, a useful model for what to ask any home.

How to Apply, State by State

Applying for benefits while you're also touring homes and packing up a household is exhausting. The route depends on who runs the supplement, and in most rows the first step is the same SSI application.

  • SSA-paid states (California, DC, Hawaii, Iowa, Michigan, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont): Apply for SSI online, by calling 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-0778) to make an appointment, or in person at a local Social Security office. Don't wait: SSA can't pay benefits for any period before the application's effective date, and if you call for an appointment, keep it and file, SSA may use the date of that call as the filing date. Our step-by-step SSI application guide covers the paperwork.
  • Iowa: Iowa HHS determines eligibility for the family-life home supplement, and SSA determines and pays it.
  • District of Columbia: A resident of an assisted living facility must submit an application for the DC Optional State Supplemental Payment (OSSP); nursing facility residents on SSI receive it automatically. The District and SSA determine eligibility within 45 days.
  • Florida: Submit an ACCESS Florida Application (form CF-ES 2337) to the Department of Children and Families. Your parent must be 65 or older (or 18 or older and blind or disabled), live in Florida intending to stay, be a citizen or qualified noncitizen, have income within the department's standards and assets within SSI's, apply for every other benefit they may qualify for, and live in a licensed assisted living facility, adult family care home or mental health residential treatment facility that meets their needs.
  • Kentucky: Apply through the Department for Community Based Services in person, by phone, or by home visit if requested. You can't apply for State Supplementation on the kynect portal. An authorized representative can apply for someone who can't come in, and if your parent can't be interviewed at first contact, form PA-77 (Intent to Apply) protects the filing date. If your parent may qualify for SSI, an SSI application is mandatory.
  • North Carolina: Your parent or an authorized representative can apply the same day at any county department of social services. The county department in your parent's county of residence processes it. Applicants must also apply for every benefit they may be entitled to, including SSI.
  • Virginia: Apply at the local department of social services in the locality where your parent lives; for someone who entered a nursing home, rehabilitation center or other medical facility in Virginia, that's the locality they lived in before. A case manager or other qualified assessor has to evaluate your parent with the uniform assessment instrument on admission, every year after that, and whenever their condition changes enough to change the level of care. The payment starts on the date the local department approves it.
  • Massachusetts: The state pays and administers its own supplement, so contact the state rather than Social Security about it.

What the SSI Supplement Doesn't Pay For

It's easy to assume Medicaid will cover the whole bill once a parent qualifies. Federal law lets a Medicaid home and community-based services waiver pay for personal care and supportive services in a setting like assisted living, but not for room and board, apart from two narrow exceptions (certain respite care and an unrelated live-in caregiver's share of rent and food), so housing and meals stay the resident's cost. Our guide to how to pay for assisted living covers the other ways families close that gap.

That's the gap a supplement can help fill. North Carolina describes Special Assistance as a cash supplement toward room and board, and California's 2026 breakdown sets aside $706.07 a month of its board and care standard for room and board.

If Your State Isn't in the Table

If your parent's state is missing here, please don't read that as "no help exists." SSA lists only seven places that pay no supplement at all: Arizona, Arkansas, Mississippi, North Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia and the Northern Mariana Islands. In states SSA doesn't administer, the state pays and runs its own supplement, so contact the state agency directly.

South Carolina, for example, runs Optional State Supplementation, a monthly cash supplement that helps some low-income residents of licensed community residential care facilities afford care.

Under Section 1616(e) of the Social Security Act, every state must set and enforce standards for the group living arrangements where a significant number of SSI recipients live or are likely to live, covering admission policies, safety, sanitation and protection of civil rights. Each state must publish a yearly summary of those standards and give anyone who asks a copy, with its enforcement procedures and a list of waivers and violations that have come to the enforcing authority's attention. Ask for that list before you choose a home.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does SSI pay more if you live in a board and care home?

Only through the state supplement: the federal share stays at $994 a month in 2026, and the state amounts for each licensed setting are in the tables above.

Can our family pay extra so Mom gets a private room?

It depends on the state, and in Virginia the answer is no: third-party payments can't be used to pay for a private room in an assisted living facility or adult foster care home. Virginia allows a family payment only if it's voluntary, paid directly to the provider after the goods or services are provided, and for items other than food, shelter or services the home must furnish anyway. Florida lets third parties add voluntary supplementation, paid to the facility rather than to the resident, of no more than four times the OSS provider rate. Elsewhere, check with the state agency before agreeing to any family top-up.

What if both parents move into the same home?

The 2026 federal SSI maximum for a couple is $1,491 a month. In California, the 2026 board and care standard for a couple is $3,252.14 a month: $1,491.00 in SSI plus $1,761.14 from the state. Pennsylvania works differently: SSA applies its 2026 personal care home couple level of $2,848.40 a month only in the month the couple moves in, then treats each spouse as an individual from the next month.

What happens to SSI if Mom goes into the hospital or a nursing home?

When someone on SSI spends a full calendar month in a hospital or nursing home and Medicaid pays more than half the cost, the federal SSI rate drops to $30 a month. If a doctor certifies in writing that she isn't likely to be there more than 90 full days, and SSA gets evidence that she needs the money to keep up the living arrangement she'll return to, she can keep her regular SSI, including a supplement SSA administers, for up to the first 3 full months. Both have to reach SSA by her discharge day or her 90th full day, whichever comes first; form SSA-186 covers both in one document. If her supplement comes from a state-run program, ask that agency how a stay affects it. Our guide to SSI in a nursing home covers longer stays.

What if Mom's application is denied?

Check the date on the notice first, because the clock runs from it. If SSA turns down her SSI claim, which carries the supplement in the SSA-paid states, ask for reconsideration in writing within 60 days after she receives the notice; SSA counts it as received 5 days after its date unless you show otherwise. Later steps have their own 60-day windows. In Florida, Kentucky, North Carolina and Virginia, the decision comes from the state or county agency (Florida sends a Notice of Case Action), so ask that agency right away how to appeal.

Does getting the supplement mean Mom also gets Medicaid?

In some states, yes. Kentucky's State Supplementation recipients are categorically eligible for Medicaid without a separate application. Anyone eligible for North Carolina's Special Assistance is automatically eligible for Medicaid, and in DC a person found eligible for the OSSP is automatically eligible for Medicaid. Virginia's Auxiliary Grant is a state- and locally-funded program, separate from Medicaid, run under rules set by the Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services.

Learn More

Chat with Brevy's care navigator about which supplement applies to your parent's home at brevy.com.


The information on Brevy.com is for educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional legal, financial, or medical advice. Rules vary by state and program and change frequently. Always verify with the relevant agency or a qualified professional. Brevy is not a law firm, financial advisor, or healthcare provider.

Still have questions?

Brevy answers from this guide and every other guide here, and can check what you qualify for.

BC

Brevy Care Team

Expert eldercare guidance from Brevy's team of healthcare professionals and researchers.